Completed Challenge: A-Z

I truly wasn’t sure I would ever finish this one, and I did it with a month to spare!  The A-Z Challenge asks participants to read a book by an author whose last name starts with every letter of the alphabet, and then a book with a title that starts with every letter of the alphabet, which is 52 books in all.  Here’s my list:

Titles:

A.  All Men Are Cremated Equal: My 77 Blind Dates – Elizabeth Fournier review

B.  Bloom – Elizabeth Scott review

C.  Come to Me – Amy Bloom review

D.  Dry – Augusten Burroughs review

E.  The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things – Carolyn Macklen review

F.  Fever 1793 – Laurie Halse Anderson review

G.  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrowsreview

H.  The Heretic Queen – Michelle Moran review

I.  Inkheart – Cornelia Funke review

J.  Jane Austen Ruined My Life – Beth Pattillo review

K.  Keeping the Moon – Sarah Dessen review

L.  Looking for Alaska – John Green review

M.  The Maternal is Political – various authors review

N.  Night – Elie Wiesel review

O.  Outliers – Malcolm Gladwell review

P.  Perfect You – Elizabeth Scott review

Q.  The Queen’s Fool – Philippa Gregory review

R.  The Road – Cormac McCarthy review

S.  The Sinner’s Guide to Confession – Phyllis Schieber review

T.  The True Story of Hansel and Gretel – Louise Murphy review

U.  Undercover – Beth Kephart review

V.  Vegan Virgin Valentine – Carolyn Mackler review

W.  We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow We Will be Killed With Our Families – Philip Gourevitch review

X.  Xanadu – various authors, edited by Jane Yolen review

Y.  Yes Means Yes – edited by Jaclyn Friedman and Jessica Valenti review

Z.  Zig-Zagging: Loving Madly, Losing Badly… How Ziggy Saved My Life – Tom Wilsonreview

Authors:

A.  Blue Water – A. Manette Ansay review

B.  The Law of Similars – Chris Bohjalian review

C.  The Awakening – Kate Chopin review

D.  This Lullaby – Sarah Dessen review

E.  Going Too Far – Jennifer Echols review

F.  Mercury in Retrograde – Paula Froelich review

G.  The Boleyn  Inheritance – Philippa Gregory review

H.  Sister Wife – Shelley Hrdlitschka review

I.  Beasts of No Nation – Uzodinma Iweala review

J.  We Have Always Lived in the Castle – Shirley Jackson review

K.  Animal, Vegetable, Miracle – Barbara Kingsolver review

L. The Blue Notebook – James A. Levine review

M.  New Moon – Stephenie Meyer review

N.  Slave – Mende Nazar and Damien Lewis review

O.  Astrid & Veronika – Linda Olsson review

P.  The Adoration of Jenna Fox – Mary E. Pearson review

Q.  Too Big a Storm – Marsha Qualey review

R.  The Family Bones – Kimberly Raiser review

S.  The Secret Story of Sonia Rodriguez – Alan Lawrence Sitomer review

T.  Skim – Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki review

U.  If Today Be Sweet – Thrity Umrigar review

V.  The Purity Myth – Jessica Valenti review

W.  Stolen Innocence – Elissa Wall review

X.  The Good Women of China – Xinran review

Y.  Falling Under – Danielle Younge-Ullman review

Z.  Story of a Girl – Sara Zarr review

I definitely won’t be doing this challenge ever again, as some of these books were extremely tough to find, but I’m proud that I was able to complete it once!

11 thoughts on “Completed Challenge: A-Z”

  1. Congrats Heather! You did well. I still have Q to finish. I’m passing on this challenge in 2010, as I get frustrated trying to find Q X and Z titles…LOL

    1. There were so many favorites, Nat!! I’d have to say that Yes Means Yes holds a particularly special place in my heart, though, and I can’t help recommending it to every person I know.

  2. Congratulations on finishing the challenge! I am trying to figure out the authors for O, Q, U, V, X. Y, and Z. I know they are out there as you have plainly shown me. I slacked a little on this one I think.

Leave a comment