Tags

Title:  My Little Red Book
Author:  Rachel Kauder Nalebuff
Release date:  February 25, 2009
Publisher:  Twelve
Pages:  240
Genre:  Nonfiction, Essays
Source:  Personal Copy


My Little Red Book is an essay collection written by real women, on the subject of their first periods.  The book is meant to remind us all of what a huge moment this event is for us as women in our lives, and because of that, we should talk about our experiences with our first periods more often.  Rachel Kauder Nalebuff had the idea for the book and put it together because she’s on a mission to do something for women and children around the world.  All of the proceeds from the sales of the book are going to various charities that help support women worldwide, and there’s a large section in the back of the book where she lists ways that the reader can help.

I don’t have a lot to say about this one.  Some of the stories were entertaining, some were heartwarming, and some were just okay, as is per usual when you read a book written by so many different people.  I like the idea of the book a lot, but in reality I was bored by the end, to tell you the truth.  I think if I would have read the stories slowly, over time, I would have enjoyed them more, but I read it in two sittings and by the end I was sick to death of reading about periods.  There’s really only so much one can say about periods before things start getting repetitive, and I found that to be the case with My Little Red Book.

Still, the idea of this one is very admirable, and I love that Kauder Nalebuff is donating everything she  makes to charity (it’s not like she’s rich, she’s a college student for goodness sakes so she could probably use the money herself).  I like that she put the book together with a larger goal in mind, and that she included resources for the average person to help women in many different ways.  This might be a great gift for a teen or preteen girl who’s just gotten her period, it definitely helps with the not feeling so alone stuff that goes along with first periods.  And since there are quite a few embarrassing stories in this collection, it helps to know that other women have been through similar embarrassing first-period situations.

Conclusion:  Great idea, okay book, not really for me but definitely could be for the teen or preteen in your life.  And I look forward to seeing what else Rachel Kauder Nalebuff does in the future.