Fade to Blue by Sean Beaudoin

Title:  Fade to Blue

Author:  Sean Beaudoin

Published:  August 1, 2009

Page Count:  208

Genre:  Young Adult Fiction

My Rating:  3/5

Sophie Blue started wearing a black skirt and Midnight Noir lipstick on her last birthday. It was also the day her father disappeared. Or spontaneously combusted. Which is sort of bad timing, since a Popsicle truck with tinted windows has started circling the house.

Kenny Fade is a basketball god. His sneakers cost more than his Jeep. He’s the guy all the ladies (and their mommas) want. Bad.

Sophie Blue and Kenny Fade don’t have a thing in common. Aside from being reasonably sure they’re losing their minds.

I don’t know what to make of Fade to Blue.  For the first half I was very interested in what was going to happen with Sophie and Kenny, yet VERY confused about what was going on in this book.  I am pretty sure that the author meant it to be somewhat confusing and convoluted, like a puzzle that the reader has to unravel, but I had a difficult time unraveling that puzzle.  I’m still not sure that I even “got” the book, having finished it.  The second half of Fade to Blue was less confusing, but as there were elements I was still not comprehending, I still found myself feeling a little lost throughout the entire book, even up to and including the ending.

Even though the book confused me, I did enjoy the characters – well, one character in particular, and that would be Sophie.  You’d have to read the book to understand why I didn’t “like” any of the other characters.  I found Sophie interesting and sympathetic and I really rooted for her to solve all the huge questions she had about her life, about her father leaving, and about this Popsicle truck obsession.

Fade to Blue was really different from the books I typically read, and even though I didn’t really “get” the novel I think people who enjoy more out-there, different, and interesting types of fiction may enjoy this one.  It’s also marketed as YA, so perhaps it would be better for teens than it was for me.

5 thoughts on “Fade to Blue by Sean Beaudoin”

  1. The cover looked so cool, I’m disappointed that your review was mixed. I probably won’t add it to my list now. Oh well, probably for the best.

    1. dont say that, the book is truly amazing- but it really does make you think about what has happened- ive never read a book thats the same. its worth it

  2. While this looks interesting I am certain that I’m not its intended reader. It’s always fun to try something new though. Great review!

  3. I just finished reading “fade to blue” and was now actually looking for someone who could help me understand… it. No such luck, but I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one feeling this way. 😀
    Anyway, I really enjoyed the book and the feeling of “not-understanding” is more like: not-being-quite-able-to-grasp-it and that’s actually a pretty great feeling.
    It’s definitely worth reading!

Leave a comment