Audiobook Week: Mid-week meme

AudiobookWeek2012 pictureToday’s post is my first foray this week into the discussion topics over at Devourer of Books’ Audiobook Week. Today Jen has an audiobook meme for us, and I thought it would be fun to share my thoughts!

Current/most recent audiobook:

Happy Accidents by Jane Lynch, narrated by Jane Lynch (car audio) and Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion, narrated by Kevin Kennedy (iPod audio).

Impressions:

I’m a huge fan of Jane Lynch (who plays Sue Sylvestor on Glee) so I am loving Happy Accidents. Warm Bodies I’m not too sure about yet, but I do think that Kevin Kennedy is doing an excellent job getting inside the mind of a zombie, and his deep, gravelly voice adds to the creepiness of the story.

Current/most recent favorite audiobook:

Well neither one of these are recent, but I LOVED Columbine by Dave Cullen, narrated by Don Leslie and also I would have to say The Road by Cormac McCarthy, narrated by Rupert Degas. What I remember most vividly about both of these audio experiences is how the narrators truly made me FEEL the story, in the best possible way. Both books would be excellent in print, but the audios pushed them even further into excellence, in my humble opinion.

Favorite narrator you’ve discovered recently:

Wil Wheaton! I thought he was absolutely genius in his narration of Ready Player One (which I’ll be reviewing on Friday). He truly embodied the idea of bringing a character and the story to life for the listener.

One title from your TBL (to be listened) stack, or your audio wishlist:

A Grown Up Kind of Pretty and Backseat Saints, both written and narrated by Joshilyn Jackson. Jackson is a masterful storyteller, and her audio performances are phenomenal. These are the only two books of hers I haven’t read yet, and I’m putting them off because I don’t want to be finished with her work!

Your audio dream team (what book or author would you LOVE to see paired with a certain narrator, can already exist or not):

I have to say that I’m a sucker for a celebrity memoir, and I love it even more when they narrate themselves. For example – Tina Fey, Rob Lowe, and Jane Lynch are three that come to mind that I’ve already listened to and loved. So I guess I’m cheating here when I say that for any celebrity I am interested in who writes a book, my dream would be for that person to narrate him/herself.

9 thoughts on “Audiobook Week: Mid-week meme”

Leave a comment