The Social Justice Challenge

When I heard about The Social Justice Challenge, hosted by Amy, Natasha, and Hannah, I knew right away that I had to be a part of it.  I care deeply about every single one of the issues the challenge is highlighting and I am so inspired that these three chose to base a reading challenge around the idea of getting educated and doing something about the atrocities that go on in our world.  Each month there is a different theme, and of course there are different levels of participation including actually going out and doing something about what we read.  Here are the twelve themes for the twelve months of the year:

  1. Religious Freedom
  2. Water
  3. Domestic Violence and Child Abuse
  4. Hunger
  5. AIDS crisis
  6. Genocide
  7. Poverty
  8. Illiteracy and Education
  9. Modern Day Slavery
  10. Homelessness & Refugees
  11. Women’s Rights
  12. Child Soldiers and Children in War

Ideally, I’d like to participate at the activist level every month, which is reading at least one book on the subject of the month, choosing one thing from the media list about that subject, and doing one action step around the issue as well.  To meet the challenge requirements, you only have to be an activist for three months but I’d love to do all twelve as I am passionate about each of these topics and I’d love to participate in this one all year.  But realistically, I know that life does get in the way rather frequently and so I’m committing to participating at the activist level for six months.  Hopefully I can do more.

I am so, so excited about this challenge and I’m looking forward to learning more and doing more in the year ahead.

2 thoughts on “The Social Justice Challenge”

Leave a comment