Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Published by Pamela Dorman Books, an imprint of Penguin
Review copy provided by the publisher via Netgalley

Louisa Clark is a regular girl with a predictable life. She lives with her parents, her sister and her nephew, and she’s been dating her boyfriend Patrick for years. Her family is not well-off, though, and her parents have always depended on her income to help with household expenses, so when she is offered a high-paying job working for Will Traynor, wheelchair-bound after a horrible accident that left him paralyzed from the chest down, she jumps at the opportunity. Will is moody and rude, but Louisa refuses to take his bait and instead treats him like she would any other person, which lowers his defenses until they become almost like friends. When Louisa learns that he’s harboring a shocking secret, she makes it her life’s mission to teach Will the most important lesson any person can ever learn.

I’m not sure what to say about Me Before You that will convince you to read it. It’s a love story, sort of, but also it’s not a love story. It’s a story about someone who is living against all odds and is resilient  but also it’s not, because this guy is so depressed and angry about his accident that he’s not really living at all. It’s a story about an ordinary girl who does an extraordinary thing. It’s a story about how two people with absolutely nothing in common, who would have never even met one another in their “regular” lives became like family to one another, and as it turns out they have quite a bit in common, including the fact that they just might be in love with each other.

How about this? I SOBBED while reading this book. Cried like I almost never do. As Oprah says, this book unleashed in me “the ugly cry”. Me Before You shattered me, devastated me, just about killed me. But oh my goodness is this an amazing read, one that you have to check out.

I can’t possibly be eloquent about how much I loved this book, so I’ll stop here. Just read it.

18 thoughts on “Me Before You by Jojo Moyes”

  1. I have a review copy of this that I’ve been meaning to get to for ages! Sounds like I should bust out the tissues with it though…:)

  2. This is really worth reading, not the best written book in the world (sorry Jojo, but it’s true!) and some of the characters are a bit clichéd, but the story packs such a terrific emotional punch that it doesn’t matter at all. I couldn’t put it down.
    I’d also recommend The Last Letter You received From Your Lover, the book she wrote before Me Before You, it’s quite different but also a terrific read.

    1. I actually thought the writing was just fine! But possibly I wasn’t paying attention to the writing because the story was SO fantastic. I have another one by her that I would like to get to soon.

  3. Sounds like this is just one of those books that is pure and good. One that yanks out your insides for everyone to see. I like those once in awhile. I must get my hands on it.

  4. I already have this one on my list, but now I know that I want it sooner rather than later. It sounds like an incredibly heartfelt read, and though I do know a little bit more of the plot than I want to going in ( after reading some other spoilery reviews) I really am excited about this one. Excellent review today. I can’t wait to see what I think!

  5. I absolutely LOVE that every blog review I read on this book is a rave. I read it late last year and adored it, I’m so glad everyone else loves it too!

Leave a comment