The Heroine’s Bookshelf by Erin Blakemore

The Heroine’s Bookshelf: Life Lessons, from Jane Austen to Laura Ingalls Wilder by Erin Blakemore
Published by Harper Perennial, an imprint of HarperCollins
Review copy provided by the publisher in conjunction with TLC Book Tours

This delightful essay collection explores the literary heroines of our time as well as the female authors who created them. Scout Finch, Scarlett O’Hara, Jane Eyre, and the rest – each of these characters has something to teach us about our own lives, and their creators’ stories are just as important.

Can I just say how much I loved this little book? I tried to read it slowly, one essay at a time, but by the time I got halfway through I just devoured the thing! Each essay is such a gem – I honestly don’t know that I liked any one best, they were all so entertaining and surprisingly profound.

The way Blakemore chose to write these essays was just perfect. Each essay was focused on one literary heroine, but also on the author who created her. She showed how what the author was going through, personally and professionally, at the time she wrote the book reflected back onto her character. Each essay also has a life lesson, based on both the heroine and the author, that we can each take something away from. These lessons, to be honest, were actually very well done and I personally got a lot out of them.

Reading this book made me want to go back and revisit all the novels that Blakemore referenced! I highly recommend The Heroine’s Bookshelf, in fact I think it is a must-read for the heroine in us all!

23 thoughts on “The Heroine’s Bookshelf by Erin Blakemore”

  1. I haven’t read this one yet, but really, really want to! It sounds like it was an excellent read and one that you had a lot of fun with. I can imagine that I would also really love this one as well. Great review today! I need to read this!

  2. I got this for Christmas last year… why have I not read it yet??? It sounds great! And I know it’s going to make me want to read all those books right away, lol.

  3. Is this a new book? Someone here mentioned they got this for Christmas last year? – Anyways, anything with Jane Austen in it is bound to be interesting…

  4. I keep hearing so many good things about this book, it sounds really fantastic. I can see that you weren’t able to stick to reading it slowly, I don’t think I could either!

Leave a comment