My Maasai Life by Robin Wiszowaty (TSS)

My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah by Robin Wiszowaty
Published by Greystone Books

Robin Wiszowaty grew up in a middle-class suburban neighborhood and had a wonderful family, great friends, and a pleasant childhood.  But all her life, she wanted more.  Something different was calling her, and she just couldn’t figure out what it was.  In her early twenties, she was given a rare opportunity to travel to Kenya and live in a Maasai community for a period of time.  The time she spent living with the Maasai people changed her life entirely – she finally figured out what she had been craving all these years.

I choose to accept My Maasai Life for review for a few reasons.  First of all, the Chicago suburb in which Wiszowaty grew up (Schaumburg) is about 10 minutes from the one I grew up in (Arlington Heights).  We are about the same age so I could relate to her life growing up in the suburbs in the 80’s and 90’s.  I had never heard of the Maasai people and was interested to learn about their ways of life.  Plus, how interesting does this story sound?  When I heard about this book, I absolutely had to read it.

Let me tell you guys, My Maasai Life was everything I’d hoped it would be and more.  Wiszowaty’s story is compelling and fascinating.  Reading this book was one of those times when I wished the rest of the world would just pause so I could read the book straight through and not stop for anything else I needed to get done.

I am by no means a world traveler, but even I had the urge to travel to Africa and experience another culture after finishing My Maasai Life. Wiszowaty managed to illuminate the Maasai people and their culture in such a way that made me want to experience this life for myself.  Don’t get me wrong – the family she lived with has a physically difficult life, with none of the comforts we take for granted every day.  However, the amount of love they have for one another, the pride they have in their homes, families, and community – these things just blew me away.  They literally adopted Robin, gave her a new name, and called her daughter/sister from the first day they met her.  It was amazing.

I cannot recommend My Maasai Life enough.  Wiszowaty’s story is compelling and readable, and she illuminates the Maasai people (a culture I’d never heard of before) in such a way that made me want to travel there and meet them myself.  I just loved this book – and I think you will, too!

15 thoughts on “My Maasai Life by Robin Wiszowaty (TSS)”

  1. This book sounds fantastic! Whenever I read about an experience like that I always think I want to live it and then I snap back to reality and realize I’m too much of a sissy to put up with the hardships. This sounds like my kind of book.

    1. That’s exactly what I went through as I was reading this book! I kept thinking how great it would be to do something like this, yet I could never leave my husband, my job, my home, and my family for this long a time! But kudos to the author for being brave enough to do it.

    1. I know you didn’t like Butterfly Mosque, but some other reviews are SO positive! I do trust your opinion, though… although I have to admit it makes me a bit concerned that you won’t like My Maasai Life and then I’ll feel bad… lol!

  2. I’m intrigued that she actually lived among the Masai- I’d find the cultural differences very interesting. You’ve just added this book to my TBR, thanks!

    1. I counted myself so lucky that the publicist pitched it to me, because I’ve only seen it mentioned one other time around the book blogs. I hope you enjoy it!

  3. You have most definitely sold me on reading this book. It sounds like such an interesting read…I’ll be requesting it from the library as soon as possible. Thanks and great review!

  4. I’m so glad to see a review of this. It keeps popping up on my Amazon recommended list, and I’ve been curious about it. Sounds interesting!

  5. […] My Maasai Life by Robin Wiszowaty – Another surprise for me.  The author traveled from her cushy life in the suburbs to Africa to become a member of the Maasai people, and wrote a book about it.  Not only did she go there, but she fell so in love with the culture and the people that she now lives in Africa and organizes student trips for others to experience the same things she has.  I didn’t expect to be so captivated by her story, but I absolutely was. […]

Leave a comment