What the World Will Look Like When All the Water Leaves Us by Laura van den Berg

Title:  What the World Will Look Like When All the Water Leaves Us
Author:  Laura van den Berg
Release date:  October 1, 2009
Publisher:  Dzanc Books
Pages:  194
Genre:  Fiction, short stories
Source:  Library

I was inspired to pick up this novel based on Rebecca’s review.  She was so enthusiastic about it that when I saw it just sitting there, untouched, at the library, I had to take it home and give it some love.  I’m really glad I did because Rebecca was right – these stories are really, truly excellent.

The book is packed full of beautiful writing, of delicate stories that pull at your heart, draw you in, and don’t allow you to forget them.  The women in each of van den Berg’s stories are searching for something, but there are so many more layers to what they are searching for than just the object itself.  These stories are the kind that you need time to think about, they need to be examined and thought about and sat on for awhile.  They are complicated and gorgeous and everything you hope from fiction.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I think that it shows incredible talent as a writer to craft a short story that is both fully complete and one that I as a reader want to go on much longer than it does.  Laura van den Berg has done exactly that with every story in this book – they were perfect as is, yet I wished I could have spent hundreds more pages with each of the women in the book.

I loved this one.  If you love great writing, with quiet, contemplative stories and realistic characters, this is the book for you.  There is a magic about this book that I can’t quite explain.  I would just encourage you to pick it up for yourself to see what I mean.

18 thoughts on “What the World Will Look Like When All the Water Leaves Us by Laura van den Berg”

  1. This sounds great! After reading Olive Kitteridge I realized how much I enjoy short stories. I’m actually listening to “Too Much Happiness” by Alice Munro right now which is another collection of short stories. I’m at the beginning, but it’s good so far. Might be one you would enjoy!

    1. I really want to read Olive Kitteridge. Also I have an Alice Munro book on my shelves right now that I should read soon. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. I read Rebecca’s review and immediately put this book on my list. Your review makes me want to put it on the top of my list.

Leave a comment