R.I.P. IV

I have decided to join Carl’s R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril IV challenge!  Here’s some challenge info:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural
.

The desire for the thrill that comes with this kind of reading drifts in on the autumn winds. You breathe it in and it takes hold of you, tempting you to late nights, book-in-hand, turning pages and starting at every unknown noise. Something wicked this way comes…

I find that kind of melodramatic fear to be a delicious intoxication, one that makes this time of year an especially enjoying time to be a reader. There is enough bad fear in the world: fear of losing one’s job, fear of the state of the world, fear of failure…the list is endless. It is time to reject that fear, embrace hope, and while doing so embrace the fun kind of fear–the kind that had us sitting around camp fires as children, listening to adults tell us ghost stories. The kind that made you want to stay up past your bed time to peek at the late night scary movie on television.

There are two simple goals to the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Challenge:

1. Have fun reading.
2. Share that fun with others.

As I do each and every year, there are multiple levels of participation that allow you to be a part of R.I.P. IVwithout adding the burden of another commitment to your already busy lives.

I plan to participate at the Peril the Second Level, which is reading two books from any of the above categories.

Ideally, I’d love to read more than two but I have lots of review commitments for these next two months (the challenge only runs through September and October) and other challenges I need to finish before the end of the year.  I plan to choose from the following books:

Can you believe I’ve had all these amazing-sounding books on my TBR shelves for several months (some for YEARS)?!  It makes me sad… I need to get to more TBR books!  Hopefully I’ll get to at least 3 or 4 of these by the end of October.

Thanks to Carl for hosting such a wonderful challenge!  I’m beyond excited to start reading.

13 thoughts on “R.I.P. IV”

  1. I’ve read 1,2 ,3 and 4 on your list. 4 being my favorite, although #2 was quite good, as well. I’ve never read Rebecca…if I had more time I’d consider reading that one!

  2. wow I have read 3 of the books on your list and I can say they are all really good reads! (In the Woods/ Rebecca and The Thirteenth Tale) Enjoy the challenge!!

  3. I absolutely loved Tana French’s books. A huge part of me wants you to read both of them! (But then, I’m dying to hear if Heart Shaped Box is any good, so another part of me wants you to read that. LOL)

  4. i’ve been seeing the RIP challenge all over–it looks GREAT but i’m swamped with a leftover summer challenge that just won’t die. does that count as a RIP challenge? lol.

    i’ve got a tanya french book sitting on my desk…haven’t gotten to it yet but can’t wait!

  5. You have some great books listed there. I’ve read Heart Shaped Box and I have the two Tana French books on my tbr list. I have tons of great books that have been on my shelves forever that I really need to get to, so I understand completely.

  6. You do have an amazing list of books on your TBR pile! Rebecca and Thirteenth Tale are wonderful. I’m over half way through Heart Shaped Box and am really enjoying it.

    So great that you are joining the challenge this year, thank you so much!

  7. I have seen The Thirteenth Tale everywhere! I’m excited to see what you think about it. I don’t think I’ve really heard of any of the other books on your list aside from Rebecca. Hope they’re all scary and fabulous. : )

Leave a comment