Review: Blink

Title:  Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking

Author:  Malcolm Gladwell

Page Count:  320

Published:  April 3, 2007

Genre:  Nonfiction

My rating:  4.5/5

In his #1 bestseller The Tipping Point, Malcolm Gladwell redefined how we understand the world around us. In BLINK, he revolutionizes the way we understand the world within. How do we make decisions–good and bad–and why are some people so much better at it than others? That’s the question Malcolm Gladwell asks and answers in BLINK. Drawing on cutting-edge neuroscience and psychology, examining case studies as diverse as speed dating, pop music, and the New Coke, Gladwell shows how the difference between good decision making and bad has nothing to do with how much information we can process quickly, but rather with the few particular details on which we focus. BLINK displays all of the brilliance that has made Malcolm Gladwell’s journalism so popular and his books such perennial bestsellers as it reveals how all of us can become better decision makers–in our homes, our offices, and in everyday life. 

I read Gladwell’s latest, Outliers, not too long ago and was very impressed by the book.  I assumed that I’d enjoy his first two at least somewhat, so when I saw that one of the libraries in my district had Blink in audio format I requested it right away.  I’m very glad that I made that decision because I really liked this book and now I need to run out and get The Tipping Point (his first book) as well!

What’s great about Gladwell is the way he constructs an argument.  He starts out very slowly, explaining a scenario to the reader, letting the reader guess what’s going to come next.  Then he goes back – does an analysis of that scenario, slowly but surely drawing the reader in, and slowly but surely getting across the information that he feels is important to what he’s trying to show.  And I’m not going to lie – he convinces me, every single time.  The way he explains everything, he makes all these different examples fit together so neatly and he produces such a clear picture of what he’s trying to get across – it’s nearly impossible not to think he’s a complete genius.

One thing I loved about Blink is how much psychology there is embedded in this book.  I was a psych major in college, so I was familiar with a lot of what Gladwell referenced.  I particularly enjoyed the section about the Implicit Association Test, because I studied this phenomena in college.  I even took many of the tests myself when I was learning about it.  It was great when Gladwell analyzed it because I was already so familiar with how the test works and its implications.

For nonfiction fans, I highly recommend Blink.  While I know that not everyone would love Gladwell’s books, he fascinates me.  So much so that I’m very interested in The Tipping Point.  Speaking of which, have any of you read that one?  How would it compare to his other two?

More reviews –

17 thoughts on “Review: Blink”

  1. Thanks for the link to my review. THE TIPPING POINT is actually my favorite of Gladwell’s books; I hope you get to read it soon. He is the king of pop-psych!

  2. I loved Tipping Point! I have Blink here in my TBR, but haven’t read it yet. This is the first review for Blink I’ve seen, so I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed it – I really should dig out my copy of Blink soon.

  3. I listened to Outliers and Blink and thought both were extremely interesting and engaging books. I have The Tipping Point on my TBR Shelf, so I can’t give my opinion on it; however, he does have a good track record! 🙂

    1. Yes, Joy, he does have a good track record. 🙂 Let me know if you read The Tipping Point before I do, I’ll look forward to your review.

  4. I’ve never read any of Gladwell’s books, but I’ve been interested in getting my hands on Outliers. I was holding out for the paperback but I think I might get the audiobook instead. I do very well with nonfiction audiobooks. I’m glad you liked Tipping Point!

    1. I enjoy nonfiction audio too. Actually, probably more than fiction audio. I don’t know why. anyway – go get Outliers or Blink, both are GREAT on audio. Gladwell’s tone is perfect.

  5. I have read all three of Gladwell’s book and I have to say that Blink is my favourite. I know most people like The Tipping Point best though. His books are always interesting and surprising!

  6. He is stil on my TBR list. I’m looking forward to reading or listening to his book. I’ll see if he convinces me every time 🙂

  7. Tipping Point is a great book. I read it with friends in our book club and we were all running around and pointing put examples that we found in life and relating them to a book. A friend of mine was even trying to help her boyfriend’s band with the book.

  8. I love Gladwell’s books. I haven’t read Outliers yet, but I’m looking forward to it. If you liked Blink, you’ll love Tipping Point. I thought it was 100 times better than Blink.

  9. Everyone seems to love this book. So I should want to read it, right? Maybe it is because I have heard so much about it it has lost its novelty. Nicely written review, though!

Leave a comment