Review: Nefertiti

Nefertiti – Michelle Moran

nefertitiFrom the book jacket –

Nefertiti and her younger sister, Mutnodjmet, have been raised in a powerful family that has provided wives to the rules of Egypt for centuries.  Ambitious, charismatic, and beautiful, Nefertiti is destined to marry Amunhotep, an unstable young pharaoh.  It is hoped by all that her strong personality will temper the young Amunhotep’s heretical desire to forsake Egypt’s ancient gods, overthrow the priests of Amun, and introduce a new sun god for all to worship.

From the  moment of her arrival in Thebes, Nefertiti is beloved by the people.  Her charisma is matched only by her husband’s perceived generosity: Amunhotep showers his subjects with lofty promises.  The love of the commoners will not be enough, however, if the royal couple is not able to conceive an heir, and as Nefertiti turns her attention to producing a son, she fails to see that the powerful priests, along with the military, are plotting against her husband’s rule.  The only person wise enough to recognize the shift in political winds – and brave enough to tell the queen – is her younger sister, Mutnodjmet.

Observant and contemplative, Mutnodjmet has never shared her sister’s desire for power.  She yearns for a quiet existence away from family duty and the intrigues of court.  Her greatest hope is to share her life with the general who has won her heart.  But as Nefertiti learns of the precariousness of her reign, she declares that her sister must remain at court and marry for political gain, not love.  To achieve her independence, Mutnodjmet must defy her sister, the most powerful woman in Egypt – while also remaining loyal to the needs of her family.

My thoughts –

Wow.  Nefertiti is such a fantastic historical fiction novel that I don’t know even what to say or how to describe my feelings about it.  I will attempt to at least explain what I loved so much about this book, however, to the best of my abilities.

Honestly, the way the book is put together is the way I think every historical fiction novel should be.  It had just the right amount of actual historical details to be incredibly interesting and actually help you learn something, while at the same time being just fictionalized enough that the story totally captivates you like truly great fiction should.  Moran had to be so meticulous when doing her research, because Egypt really came to life in this book – I could see the clothing they wore, the way the houses, gardens, and palaces were designed, and the way the cities looked… it was pretty amazing how detailed she got.  But nowhere did the details ever feel overdone – I relished and loved every single little one.  Also, the characters of Nefertiti and Mutny were so well-written.  I could really understand Mutny’s constant struggle between family loyalty and her own desires for a quiet life outside the palace.  She definitely loved her sister, even when Nefertiti treated her cruelly, but could never let go of her own personal wishes and dreams.  And Nefertiti was powerful, beautiful, but also cruel – just as she was seen by the public.  But she also had a soft side, which she would reveal only to her baby sister, and this side came out especially when she was particularly scared about something, such as the loss of one of her children.  Although I found the minor characters a bit one-dimensional, the fact that Moran wrote these two main characters so well totally makes up for that minor quibble.

Overall, I loved this book and highly recommend it.  I’ll definitely be picking up Moran’s second novel, The Heretic Queen, as soon as I can either mooch it or find it at the library.

Also reviewed by:

10 thoughts on “Review: Nefertiti”

  1. Glad to see you also enjoyed this one, Heather! And thank you for the link to my review.

    If you wait a couple of days, I’m going to be posting a giveaway for The Heretic Queen (two signed editions!) on Saturday…it will probably run for a week. 🙂

  2. I loved Nefertiti!! It was among the best books I’ve read this year. I haven’t reviewed it yet, though, or read the follow up, but it’s in my TBR pile.

    You’re right, Moran really does make Egypt come to life. It was hard from me to pull away from the book to do other things.

  3. I felt pretty much exactly the same way – this is how historical fiction should be done. I can’t wait for you to read The Heretic Queen, I hope you get a copy soon.

  4. That’s really awesome, I’ve been wanting to read this book, but mostly cause Michelle Moran is my AP economics teacher’s wife and she was my friend’s english teacher when she was teaching(before she left to right this book), but now I want to read it more than before. Our school was all psyched when Nefertiti first came out, so I’ve always wanted to read it. Thanks manys, cause I’m excited to mooch the book off my friend now. 😀

Leave a comment