Review – Never Let Me Go

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Never Let Me Go

Quick summary –

As children Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy were students at Hailsham, an exclusive boarding school secluded in the English countryside. It was a place of mercurial cliques and mysterious rules where teachers were constantly reminding their charges of how special they were.  Now, years later, Kathy is a young woman. Ruth and Tommy have reentered her life. And for the first time she is beginning to look back at their shared past and understand just what it is that makes them special–and how that gift will shape the rest of their time together.

My thoughts –

It is difficult to talk too much about this story without giving anything away.  The reader finds out pretty early on in the story what makes these children so “special” but that doesn’t mean that there aren’t still plenty of questions left unanswered at that point.  Slowly, things begin to make sense through the narration and easy storytelling of Ishiguro, but the more things make sense, the more questions I seemed to have.  This book is a very powerful story; although it is science fiction it reads like a well-written, easy to read novel, and I couldn’t tear myself away for very long.  The story raises some powerful ethical/moral questions regarding advances in science, our part in all of that, and basic human rights.  I HIGHLY recommend this book, I truly loved it.  Has anyone read any other of Ishiguro’s work, and if so, what did you think?  I am interested in exploring more of what he’s written.

Rating – 10! (out of 10)

Read Eva’s review here and Jeane’s review here.

10 thoughts on “Review – Never Let Me Go”

  1. I read this one earlier this year and really enjoyed it as well. I also read Remains of the Day last year, and it’s now one of my favourite books of all time. So you should definitely go reda that one!

  2. Hi Heather, me again! I’m reading this now. My book club picked it so that gave me a good excuse. We won’t discuss it until December, but I’m flying through it at warp speed! Started it yesterday and have zipped through 150 pages already. It’s really good but I’ve got so many questions!!!

  3. As Eva suggested, you should start with “The Remains of The Day” if you want to get better aquainted with Ishiguro. I don’t know if the movie is any good. I’ve never seen it.

    So this one is a sci-fi? That’s crazy. Not his usual fare, is it? Is there some kind of unreliable narration going on? That’s one of his trademark tricks. He really makes it seem effortless. I can’t wait to read it!

Leave a comment