Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

Alexander HamiltonAlexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow
Published by Penguin Books

Along with just about everyone else in the world, the first time I listened to the musical Hamilton, I was hooked instantly. When I learned that not only was it based on the real story of Alexander Hamilton’s life and career, but that Lin Manuel-Miranda received the inspiration for the musical from this biography, I knew I had to read it. I had to know more about this particular founding father and what exactly in the musical was real and what liberties Manuel-Miranda took with Hamilton’s story. I like nonfiction a lot, but biographies are not usually my thing, and any book that is 700 pages is intimidating in and of itself. So I was a little worried that I wouldn’t be able to enjoy this reading experience, even though I was interested in the information within.

I’m happy to say that I definitely did enjoy reading Alexander Hamilton even though it was, as expected, quite a project. I’m not going to pretend it was the easiest read ever, and man was it LONG, but I was impressed by how readable the book really was. It was not dry at all – Hamilton’s life certainly was interesting, and Chernow managed to make even the boring stuff (to me) like battle scenes and military strategy intriguing enough to hold my interest.

This biography is incredibly thorough, full of just about every detail imaginable about Hamilton’s life. As I said earlier, I don’t read many biographies so I am not a good judge of how this one stacks up, but I personally was very impressed by what Chernow did with the story. It had to have taken an incredible amount of research to uncover some of the things he did about Hamilton, his political friends and foes, and his family. I have to say that overall, the book was extremely impressive in that way.

Reading Alexander Hamilton did take me quite a while, but I’m glad I read it. This is an extremely well-researched and well-written book about one of the more overlooked (until the musical!) founding fathers. It also helped me even further appreciate the genius of Lin Manuel-Miranda for creating such an incredible musical based on this book. AND reading it got me even more excited to see Hamilton in Chicago next month!

2 thoughts on “Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

  1. I’m glad to hear this was so enjoyable, despite being so long. I’ve seen a lot of bloggers picking this up since the musical came out, but I’d missed that the musical was actually inspired by this particular biography.

    1. YES! Lin Manuel-Miranda wrote the musical after picking up this book at an airport and being captivated and inspired by Hamilton’s story. I totally get how he was inspired because the book really is that good.

Leave a Reply

