Still here!

Has it really been since February that I’ve posted … and since NOVEMBER that I’ve given any sort of life update? Wow. After all of you were so kind to be there for me when I was going through such a difficult time, I am so sorry to have dropped off the face of the earth. I guess it’s safe to say that a lot has happened in my life since November. Long story short – moved out of the house I shared with my ex (although we still haven’t sold it – even longer story that I don’t need to get into now), have taken several trips to Chicago to spend time with family, have taken a few other trips (St. Augustine, Savannah, New York, and ARUBA!), and here’s the big news … I met someone! I’m currently in a relationship with someone I have known for about two years, as acquaintances, and we connected recently after learning that we both went through a similar personal situation at roughly the same time. This relationship has been fantastic in every way and at this point, I’m just incredibly happy and enjoying how great that feeling is.

Oh and also – that surgical procedure I was going to have? It is coming in August, although I am going to be undergoing a much more minor procedure than I thought I would have to have originally, and it should buy me 5-10 more years until open heart surgery. So while the fact that a procedure with a hospital stay is on the immediate horizon is scary, I am grateful that technology has advanced so much in just a few short years to afford me the opportunity to basically buy extra time until I must have major surgery.

I’ve been reading, although not nearly as much as I had in the past. I think I’ve read something like twenty-four books this year, which although I know is more than most people read for sure, I think most of you bloggers would say that’s not very many. But whatever, I’m enjoying what I’m reading and I’ve pretty much stopped any type of review copy acceptance so I’ve only been reading for fun. And I’m okay with that.

I have actively contemplated closing this blog down, as it’s clear that my posting over the past year has been erratic at best. I took some time to think about this over the past few weeks and while I’m still not 100% committed, I don’t see myself closing the site any time soon. I’d like to get back into sharing what I’ve been reading with all of you, and chatting and interacting on all of your blogs, so my goal is to do this in a more casual manner. If I post, I post, if I don’t … oh well. I have a backlog of books to talk about since I’ve barely shared a thing I’ve read this year, so I’ll start there and see how things go.

Anyway. Thank you all for being there, for understanding when things got difficult for me and when I disappeared, but I am still here, I am still reading, and hopefully I’ll be a more active presence in the community.

Happy Sunday! šŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Still here!

  1. Heather! It’s wonderful to see you around these parts again, and I hope you’ll tell us a little bit about what you’ve been reading too. I’m so glad that your life is in less turmoil than it was when we last heard about what was going on with you, and I’m thrilled that you’re happy. Infinity hugs.

    1. Aww thank you so much Jenny!! I’m really hoping to get back into this as full swing as I can, while at the same time not putting any pressure on myself to be a super great blogger. Infinity hugs back.

  2. {{{hugs}}} So great to hear from you. ā¤
    I have stuff going on and haven't updated my blog in wayyyyy tttttooo long either but I'm reading and I'll be back eventually. Don't stress abt the job and books and readers; what will be will be? I don't know, it seems blogs just evolve but I love mine in whatever form i keep it going.

  3. I am so glad you are doing well. stay healthy. I had a stroke last year so it has affected my reading. i haven’t read a lot either. It is like I can’;t get into reading. I will keep trying.

Leave a Reply

