Update … on a few things

Friends, I cannot possibly thank you all enough for the outpouring of love and support I received on my last post. Things are settling down quite a bit but there are still many things up in the air life-wise. One HUGE relief has been that I got onto a new team of cardiologists, two individuals who specialize in exactly what my congenital heart condition is, and their diagnosis of my situation is that I don’t have to have open heart surgery just yet. They want to closely monitor me and do a barrage of test every six months, but as of this very second, I am cleared to avoid surgery for the next six months. I cannot possibly explain what a tremendous relief that is – yes, I know that eventually surgery will happen for sure, but to not have to deal with it at the same time as all of this other stuff is majorly freeing and has led to a huge sense of peace for me. At least for now.

As far as the divorce is concerned, it has been filed and that situation is basically done, at least in every legal sense of the word. The next big thing on my list of stuff that is stressing me out is the fact that we cannot seem to get any traction on selling our house. We’re now looking at lowering the price, possible rent to own situations, or even just finding renters for a year. The not selling the house is putting on pause a whole bunch of other financial things that need to fall into place for the two of us to officially go our separate ways, so that is definitely stressful. Add to that living with one’s ex – not the most fun of situations even in the best of circumstances, and honestly with how well we are getting along I know that my situation is probably as good as I could possibly hope for. But it’s still hard, and I’m ready to transition my life to the next place it’s headed, and that transition has to wait until I can physically transition to a new place to live. Please cross fingers and toes and pray for me if you do that sooner than later this house will move and I can begin planning the next steps of my life.

Other than that, I am surprisingly good! My level of distraction from life has prevented me from reading, for the most part, but I am enjoying time with friends as much as I possibly can and really trying to transition my life emotionally to wherever I am going to go from here. It has been interesting, to say the least, but I know I am going to be in a good place when all is said and done. I am hopeful that I will start reading on a more consistent basis again soon, and maybe reviews will come with that? We shall see. I do have a backlog of books that I could talk about, if I can get up the gumption to do so.

The election. I don’t even want to talk about it. I am saddened and heartsick by the fact that this country is even more racist and misogynistic than I even dared to fear it was. I must have hope that we will figure out a way to recover as a country from this disastrous decision that was made but I don’t see how that’s possible at this point. I just … don’t even know what to say.

Anyway. Thank you friends, from the bottom of my heart, for being there for me emotionally during this difficult time. Things are looking up for me, for SURE, and I know that better days are ahead.

Now that I’ve spilled my heart and soul … what’s new with you, my lovely friends?

12 thoughts on “Update … on a few things

  1. Well, I am working a lot. A coworker had surgery last week, and needs to recover. So, I get more hours, which means more money, which means I can save to come visit you, or go to Denver. Will you come to Chicago for Christmas, cuz?

  2. Great news on finding the right doctors to care for you and for not having to face surgery for at least a while. Hope your house sells soon so that you can move on from the divorce and start your new life. The election? I am literally sick to my stomach today. I am in no way ready to “come together” as so many are calling for. Particularly in light of the fact that so many haven’t felt the need to do that for the past 8 yrs.

    1. Thank you! Yes I completely agree – why would those on the other side of things expect for everyone to come together in solidarity when they stubbornly refused to even consider compromising on anything for the last 8 years is absolutely beyond me. It’s so insane.

  3. I am so glad you are okay. I had a stroke over the summer. It affected my left side. I haven’t read a book since it happened. I am trying to start reading. the stroke didn’t effect my speech. I am walking. I can’t wait until the reading bug comes back.

  4. Reading between the lines, it sounds like that things for you, while not perfect, are definitely better than your last post, for which I am SO glad. The news about no surgery for the next six months is great; I can imagine your relief and am sure it is even more major than my imagination. I hope your house sells soon. Being stuck in that sort of limbo does not help either party. As for the election, I have gotten over my despair and have reached the anger stage. Right now, I am using that anger to donate and check out charities or other groups that I feel are going to be targeted heavily come January. I’m gearing up for the long battle.

  5. A big pile of hugs for you, lady — even if things aren’t where you want them to be yet, it sounds like you’re at least feeling better, and I hope your house situation gets resolved soon, one way or another.

    The election — I don’t even know what to think about it. I’m so sad and scared and angry, and I feel like I don’t have anywhere to put those emotions. It is what it is, I guess, and we just have to figure out how to love each other harder and move forward with a president who embodies authoritarianism and prejudice. I hate it. I don’t know when I’ll ever stop feeling angry.

Leave a Reply

