47289-sundaysalonI knew it had been a long time since I’ve checked in via The Sunday Salon but holy crap … I looked at my archives and it’s been more than a year?! Wow. I really need to get back to this.

So what has happened recently? Well, I may or may not have shared that we moved in early December. I think I’d mentioned here before that we were having a house built, well it’s done, it’s everything we wanted and we are absolutely loving living in it. We’re still doing odds and ends kind of projects around the house, but mostly everything is how we dreamed it would be. Work has been … work … if you read my Day in the Life post, you were able to see how long my days are sometimes – but mostly I love it, exhausting that it can be at times. My husband changed jobs and he’s loving his new career so far, about a month in. Better growth opportunity within a company plus better pay = an offer he couldn’t possibly refuse, and I’m glad it’s working out so well for him.

Coming up for me is a family vacation starting this Thursday – my mom, aunt and cousin are coming in from Chicago and we’ll spend a few days at Ana Maria Island and a few days just hanging out here at the house. A trip to The Wine Room is definitely on the agenda, as well as perhaps spending a day at one of the Disney parks. Not sure yet, but we’ll have a great time no matter what.

I have been doing phenomenally well on #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks. Of the 25 books I read in the first quarter of the year, TWELVE of them were from my TBR shelves. Maybe that doesn’t sound like a lot to some people but I’m pretty sure that’s way more than I read all of last year from my own shelves. Only six of the books were from the library, one was a book I bought (for book club, still counts but I couldn’t get it any other way), and one was aย review copy. The rest were a combination of audio, re-read, and comics, three categories I’m not counting towards my personal challenge. What’s most exciting about this is that I’m finding books I really like – and getting rid of ones I don’t. Additionally, I’ve read two books that were over 500 pages (and about to start a third), and three nonfiction books from my shelves – well on my way to my goal of six of each. While my first book finished in April was a review copy, and I do have some library stuff in the queue, I feel confident that I’ll continue this trend for the next few months. Check back in with me at the end of June for a second quarter update!

That’s all for today. It’s my husband’s birthday and all he wants to do is relax and lay low for the day, something I’m more than happy to indulge in myself. I plan to make these French Dip Sandwiches for dinner – one of his favorites – so I better get started on getting that together and in the slow-cooker.

Happy Sunday, everyone! What have you been up to lately? Anything exciting going on in your world?