When It HappensWhen It Happens by Susan Colasanti
Published by Viking Juvenile

From the publisher:

At the start of her senior year in high school, Sara wants two things: to get into a top college and to find true love. Tobey also wants two things for his senior year: to win Battle of the Bands and to make Sara fall in love with him. However, a popular jock named Dave moves in on Sara first. But Tobey’s quirky wit and big blue eyes are hard for Sara to ignore. Plus, he gets the little things that matter to her. Can a slacker rock-star wannabe win the heart of a pretty class brain like Sara?

Since this year I’m trying to #ReadMyOwnDamn books, I’m getting to a lot of books that have been on my shelves FOREVER, and this is one of them. I figured it’d be a quick and fun read and I was not wrong about that. This is a cute but predictable story about the popular girl who is also smart (why those two things have to be marketed as opposites is annoying, but whatever) and is looking for a guy who she has something in common with, instead of the popular guy she is “supposed” to be with. Enter Tobey – the guy who is in love with the popular, smart Sara and KNOWS they are destined to be together, so he goes to great lengths to get to know her. And it works. Cue happy ending.

I mean, that’s pretty much the whole thing but it isn’t a bad book, and not quite as cliche as I made it sound. There are a few Issues discussed throughout the book – although, I felt the author could have explored some of those a little more to give the book more depth – and the characters are somewhat complex. At least some of them are. Also the book is told from the alternating perspectives of Sara and Tobey, which is something I can’t ever resist, and in this case I thought it worked really well. Although, man, do high school guys think about sex a lot. I suppose that’s accurate and realistic, though, so I can’t complain.

Overall, When It Happens was cute and enjoyable and I can’t say it was a waste of my time. While I didn’t LOVE it, I would certainly read more by this author.