So! If you follow me on any social media, you may have noticed that my (already sporadic at best) posting has slowed WAY down these past few weeks. Since November 23rd life has been a whirlwind. We closed on our new home on the 23rd, dealt with the many miscellaneous things that come with new home ownership throughout that week, celebrated a lovely Thanksgiving that Thursday followed by a busy weekend, and moved in to our new home Monday the 30th. Two weeks of unpacking and cleaning later, and I hosted my employees (current and former – it was an amazing group) at my home for our annual work holiday party. Tonight my husband is doing the same with his employees and on Wednesday, I fly to Chicago to celebrate Christmas with my family. To add to the busy/crazy past few weeks, we still don’t have internet in our new home (long story) so I haven’t been able to get online much at all. I’m typing this while sitting in a Panera enjoying a diet coke and free wifi.🙂

I HIGHLY doubt you’ll see any more posts from me this year. I also am unclear about whether I’ll get to review the almost 20 unreviewed books I’ve read recently. OR if I’ll get to a best books of 2015 post. Let’s face it, the end of the year is just ridiculously busy for a normal person, but when you move right at that time, forget it. All bets are off. And I’m not stressing about it.

What I AM doing is looking ahead to the new year. And now that I have a room just for me and my books (for serious, I get a library in my new home, it’s incredible), I want to fill it only with those books I absolutely love. I’m okay with having a TBR pile, or many piles, but I do eventually need to (and desperately want to!) read those books. And then decide whether they get a permanent place in my home library or whether they get donated to someone else’s library. All that being said, I’m joining Andi’s Reading My Own Damn Books challenge. What I love about this is that there are no rules – I get to make my own! I still need to take the time to decide what those rules will be. That will have to come in a future post. But for now, just know that I am reading at least some of my own damn books next year!

And you? How has the end of the year been for you? Are you giving in to the stress and pressure of the holiday season, or are you relaxing and enjoying what is to many the most wonderful time of the year? I’d say I’m about halfway between the two at this point. Once my plane lands in Chicago, I’ll definitely be closer to the enjoyment stage.🙂

If I do disappear for the rest of the year, happy holidays to you and your families, and please take time to appreciate whatever family and friends you have. This is a tough time of year for many people (will be for my family this year) but to look around and see so many loved ones is truly a blessing. At least I think so.