The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen

 

The Opposite of MeThe Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen
Published by Washington Square Press

Twins Lindsey and Alex have always been opposites: Lindsey the “smart” one and Alex the “beautiful” one (at least, according to Lindsey). But when Lindsey’s high-powered life in New York City crumbles around her, she returns to her family home in Maryland to help with the preparations for Alex’s wedding – an event she is not looking forward to one bit. When a family secret comes out, both Lindsey and Alex must reexamine who they are in their family dynamic and come to see that maybe they’re not such opposites after all.

I was attracted to this book because I’ve enjoyed Pekkanen’s in the past and also because I have a sister. I’m not a twin, but my sister and I are about as different as can be and weren’t super close growing up (although now we are). I enjoyed it, although I had a difficult time relating to Lindsey as a character. I found her very self-absorbed and unable (or unwilling) to have empathy for anyone, especially her sister. She had such a difficult time seeing things from any perspective other than her own to a point that it was almost unrealistic. But there was definite growth in her character, which I really appreciated – she grew up over the course of the novel, which is something I always like to see.

I did also appreciate the way the book made me think about career vs. family, money vs. success, as in – what is the definition of success? If a person is working sixty plus hours a week, not sleeping, not spending time with family and friends, but making a lot of money and climbing the corporate ladder quickly, is that considered success? To me, it’s not, but I have to admit to getting wrapped up in my own work drama and corporate culture too often. I need to more regularly step back and evaluate my priorities and remember to focus on what really matters in life – my relationships with my spouse, family, and friends and all the good things that come from those relationships, that’s what’s important. To me, anyway.

So this was an enjoyable read and I did like what Pekkanen did with the ending, how she wrapped things up for these characters. I’ve liked a couple of her other books more than this one but she is still a solid women’s fiction author to me. I’ll keep reading her books!

As a sidenote – I actually hate the term “women’s fiction” but I am not sure there’s another way of describing this type of book that doesn’t make it sound like ONLY women can/want to read it. In reality, these are books primarily written by women, about women, and read mostly by women. Does anyone know a better way of saying this?

6 thoughts on “The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen

      1. Haha I totally get it! No need to apologize!

        There’s just this tendancy for books branded “women’s fiction” or “chick lit” to not be taken seriously or on par with other types of fiction and I just so vehemently feel that should not be the case. But I don’t know how to get around those labels. On Dec 2, 2015 1:09 PM, “Book Addiction” wrote:

        >

  1. I also dislike but don’t have a better name than Women’s Fiction. As other bloggers have been saying though, that is mostly because of the fact that a book may be judged as being inferior. I also think it’s a problem that books by women and about women are categorized as being for women and mostly read by women. No one assumes books by and about men will only be read by men!

Leave a Reply

