So I said back in July that I would catch you guys up with what’s been going on in my life lately and then I just … didn’t. I guess I had a busy summer as it seemed to just fly by, which can be a good thing because here in Central Florida, summer is HOT and it’s best to be indoors as much as possible. Today is the first day I can feel a hint of fall in the air, so I have the windows open in my entire house as I type this, a gentle breeze wafting in. It’s delightful.

So what has been going on with me? For starters, we are moving! We are having a home built in a Meritage Home subdivision about 30 minutes from where we currently live. This house is truly our dream house, our forever home. It has everything we could possibly want in a home and I see us there for many, many years. The whole house-building thing is kind of a crazy and stressful time, so a lot of my time has been devoted to that – we had multiple design meetings, pre-construction meetings, meetings with the bank, next week we have a pre-drywall meeting – I think you get the idea. It’s incredibly fun and I’m beyond excited, but also – it’s a lot of work! So we’ve been a bit busy with that.

What else? Well, in July I spent a few days back “home” in Chicago for my nephew’s 2nd birthday. It was a quick trip, but I got lots of time with family, which was wonderful. I’m headed back there next weekend for my husband’s grandmother’s 100th birthday. Yep, 100! She’s amazingly healthy for 99, no physical health problems besides needing a walker as her balance is a little off, and intellectually she’s doing pretty great, too. There have been a few memory lapses here and there recently, but I think that’s to be expected when a person has 100 years of memories crammed inside of their brain! Obviously we’ll spend time with my family, too, and since we’re going for almost an entire week this time I’m hoping to squeeze some time in with friends as well.

And then … I’m SO excited for the weekend after we return from Chicago, because I’m headed to New York for a girls’ trip!! I couldn’t be more pumped about this – four days with the girlfriends in my life I’ve known the longest of anyone and remained friends throughout years of changing interests, different colleges, moves across the country, husbands, etc. I’ve never been to New York, so one of my friends and I are arriving a day early to do a whirlwind tour of the hot tourist stuff in NYC. The next morning, the other three arrive and we’re heading up to Upstate NY for two days of vineyard touring. It should be an amazing time and truly, I could not be more excited.

Work has been … really weird lately. Some stuff has been happening that hasn’t directly affected me, thank God, but has affected some people I really care about, and it’s been kind of hard. Sorry about the vagueness but it’s nothing I can or should share publicly. Let’s just say it’s a time of uncertainty for a lot of people and while I’ve done a decent job at keeping my team motivated and working hard every day despite what’s going on, I’d be lying if I said people aren’t feeling it. We’re all feeling the vibe and I’m just hoping things will settle down soon. It’s looking like that will be the case – I’m truly crossing my fingers that what looks hopeful becomes reality sooner than later.

Let’s talk about reading, shall we? I was doing pretty okay for a while there, reading a few good books in a row, and now I just can’t get into a book to save my life. I’ve started and abandoned three books this week, and I’m currently reading nothing in print. I just can’t get into anything. I need to pick up something that will just sweep me up, right from page 1. Hopefully I find something soon. I decided to listen to the audio of Amy Poehler’s Yes Please as a sort of comfort listen – I read the print last year – and it’s totally working. I LOVE this book on audio, and it puts me in a good mood each day as I listen while driving to and from work.

And writing? Writing is going even worse than reading. I have zero motivation to write about any of the books I’ve read recently. Zero. I’d love to change that but I’m just not sure if/when it will happen.

So that’s what’s been going on with me! What has been going on in your neck of the woods?