Whew, haven’t checked in here for quite some time. May was busy and stressful for a few reasons, and it appears that so far June has been much the same way, which is why you haven’t seen me too much around here.

For starters, my grandmother passed away mid-May. She had been sick with dementia for many years and my father and stepmother had been taking care of her for the past two or three of those years. She ended up getting up in the middle of the night unassisted, falling, and needing surgery on her hip. Due to her age (90) and overall health, she never fully came out of surgery in any way that would suggest she could go on to live a normal life (unresponsive, open eyes and that’s it, etc.). My father had to make the extremely difficult decision to put her on hospice care, and she passed away after I think it was eight or nine days at the hospice facility.

Needless to say, it was an incredibly difficult time for my family. There are many issues within my father’s family and the level of drama and ugliness that occurred during this time was just really difficult for everyone to handle, myself included. I did travel home to Chicago a few days after she passed, and even with the difficulties within the family, I was able to see everyone I wanted to spend time with while there. The bonus was that although I had to travel for a shitty reason, I got to see my nieces and nephew on what I considered an “extra” occasion. I don’t know. It was hard and emotional and nothing about the time I was there was “fun” exactly but I was also so incredibly grateful to have that additional time with family. Does that make sense?

Anyway, the rest of May was busy too. We took my mother-in-law and hubby’s grandmother out for Mother’s day, which was really nice but also a long day – driving to Tampa and back from Orlando pretty much eats up an entire day. Work was basically a juggling act between myself and my assistant manager with taking time off – me for Chicago and her because she got some surprise news about her own family, and had to make a spur-of-the-moment trip out of the country the day after I got back from my trip. Lots of changes have been happening at work, too, which just leads to everyone feeling this undercurrent of stress that never really goes away and has been leaving me with an unsettled feeling for several months now. (Nothing bad, just things are changing. It’s different for us, and stuff we just need to grow up about and get used to.)

Let’s see, what else? June 4th was my 8-year anniversary being married to the best husband ever. He so very sweetly drove to my work and brought me flowers and a card in the middle of the day, and we celebrated the following Saturday with dinner at a nice steakhouse here in town (I had the most delicious sea bass EVER). Also, a friend who moved to New York about a year ago was visiting for the weekend and was at a bar very near where we had dinner that night, so we got to stop by and see him for a couple of hours before our dinner. That was a nice surprise.

This week has been full of stuff, too. Monday I had dinner with girlfriends, Tuesday I had dinner with other girlfriends, Wednesday after work was a chill staying at home night, and Thursday I had a five-hour doctor visit that I had to take off work to do (stress test, so not fun) and then a going away party for a co-worker who is moving to Seattle at night. Today I have a full day of work and book club at night. Saturday we’re going to Lakeridge Winery for the day for their Harvest Festival – something I’ve never been to but am excited to check out – and to Universal Studios at night for a concert (Huey Lewis and the News). Sunday my plan is to do NOTHING besides lay by the pool, read, and maybe throw a load of laundry in. Maybe.

I’ve been reading but not really writing. I’m reading Misery for #MiseryRAL and am already pretty creeped out. I just finished Some Girls, Some Hats and Hitler, a memoir by a Viennese hatmaker who escaped Vienna when the Nazis took over (recommended to me by one of my employees, and I liked it a lot), and am working my way through Americanah too (so good!). I just picked up The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up from the library along with a few others and am looking forward to diving into those soon. If I could just get my butt in gear to write reviews. I sense a bunch of mini-reviews coming your way soon.🙂

Whew! Well I think that about catches things up. I’m looking forward to a more calm and happier June than what May ended up to be, and mid-July I have another trip planned to Chicago, this time for my nephew’s 2nd birthday.

I hope things are going well in your neck of the woods! I haven’t been reading blogs as much as I should be, so please tell me if I’ve missed anything important!