Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – Reread for HP Read-along

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
Published by Scholastic

If you didn’t know already, Sheila at Book Journey is hosting a Harry Potter read along, and I’m happy to participate. 🙂 Here are some brief thoughts on the fourth book.

  • I forgot how LONG this book is! Although it reads very quickly, it took me a lot longer than I anticipated to get through this one.
  • No quidditch? Sad! Although the competition was probably more exciting than quidditch matches, I did miss that element of the books in this one.
  • We finally see how evil and horrific the Death Eaters are in the very beginning of the book and it is really just some foreshadowing of what else is coming. Poor muggles!
  • I loved Hermione’s sass and ability to tell Ron how much of an idiot he was being throughout this book. I laughed out loud during the part when they were trying to figure out who to ask as dates to the ball and neither Harry nor Ron could believe that some other guy actually asked Hermione. It’s like, wake up and realize your best friend is a girl! And a pretty damn awesome one, too!
  • Over and over again while reading this book I just kept shaking my head in disbelief that the wizards and witches in charge actually allowed Harry to compete in the Triwizard Tournament. Yes I get that there are “rules” and I guess you can’t break magical rules but still … come on now!
  • On that note, I was also shocked that no one really questioned, at least in all seriousness, the fact that Harry’s name was put into the goblet under very suspicious circumstances. Who but a dark wizard would be able to circumnavigate all the hexes that Dumbledore put on the thing? Even though I have read this book before and therefore knew the ending, I was shocked by the fact that no one thought of the extremely obvious culprit behind Harry’s name getting into the tournament.
  • While the last book felt like a bridge between the simpler times of Harry being a preteen and the darker times that are to come in the last four books, Goblet of Fire felt like a perfect middle of the series to me. For most of the book, while Harry is dealing with trials and tribulations and competing in some extremely difficult challenges for the tournament, his life is relatively innocent. Until the end, and at that point it’s ON and bad things happen rather quickly – which is the perfect set-up for the final three books in the series.
  • I remembered the whole ending except for the fact that Moody was involved, and the details of that whole situation. That was a welcome surprise because I love when I forget things in these books so I get to experience it as if it were the first time in the re-read!
  • I love these books. And that is all.
6 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – Reread for HP Read-along

  1. Having watched all the movies first I thought Goblet of Fire was a dang good book . I loved reading about Winky and Dobby in this one as well as the Quidditch world cup because the movie never showed the fun and excitement of it. Only the doom and gloom of the death eaters, particularly Barty Crouch Jr, if I remember correctly.

  2. For the longest time, this was my favorite of the series. Then Book 7 was released, and that one blows them all away. However, I still think HP4 is one of the best in the series for all the reasons you state. You can’t get much more excitement than the Tri-wizard Tournament. It is also the crest of the roller coaster, as Harry and his friends are on the cusp of growing up faster than they ever imagined but haven’t quite left their childhoods behind just yet. This is also the first book where I felt Hermione really came into her own, developing her own personality and interests outside Ron and Harry with the added ability to tell them off as needed. Man, I love that girl!

  3. I agree with everything you said. This one has always been my favorite of the series – loved #7, but his one is the best. Not quite so much grown-up problems and still set at Hogwarts. It’s like the last of their childhood in a way. And as the whole teen dance scene plays out, the beginnings of real adulthood. And the sadness of losing Cedric – a real loss. I can remember when I saw this book for the first time, the length of it was just amazing. I just kept thinking, yay, the story will go and on and on and on.

  4. Goblet Of Fire does take a while doesn’t it? I started reading it while on vacation and I am not even to the school yet. There is a lot of things going on prior to the school year in this one. Great thoughts on the book!

  5. This is a long book. It seems like I have been reading forever and I’m only About 200 pages in. Hope I can get it finished before it is snatched away by the library. I am enjoying it though.

Leave a Reply

