Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)This is the point in Sheila’s Harry Potter Readalong that I was VERY excited to get to. For me, book three is where things really start to pick up and where the books move from being very children’s book-ish to more young adult, dealing with more difficult, adult themes and darker stuff. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban isn’t my favorite in the series, but it’s the gateway to what I really love about the Harry Potter world – the complexities of the relationships between these people, the history that took place before Harry was even born, and everything that led up to Voldemort’s coming back.

I don’t have a ton of new or exciting thoughts on this book, however. This book, to me, is more of a segue into the longer and more complicated last four books. It’s kind of in-between in my opinion. I know that I didn’t love Sirius Black when I read the book the first time, and now that I’ve read the series several times I can look back at this book as that innocent time in Harry’s life before he knew the truth of things and it’s just so CUTE how scared he (and everyone else) was of Sirius! I found the squabbling between Ron and Hermione just as annoying as I did the first several times I read this book, but I guess they’re baby teenagers (thirteen I think) so … hormones? I remember thinking the end of the book was so very complicated with the time-turner and the secrets the characters were keeping coming to light, but really it’s not all that complex once you get what’s going on.

I love this book! Even though I don’t have a lot to say about it, it’s a hugely important book in the series and it really advances the story. I’ve already started Goblet of Fire and WOW that book is longer than I remembered it being. But yay Harry Potter!🙂