Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone re-read/Readalong

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
Published by Scholastic

I have no idea how many times I’ve read this book. Lots. I’ve definitely read it the most of the entire series, because when the last three books came out I read the rest of the series from the beginning in anticipation of the newest book (each time). But even though I practically have the book memorized, it’s still a great reading experience every single time.

Every time I pick up this book I am amazed at J.K. Rowling and the sheer brilliance of what she created. I heard that she didn’t know she would be writing seven books as she wrote this one, but that’s incredibly difficult to believe because there are SO MANY things throughout this book that indicate where the rest of the series is headed.

My favorite scene in the book is the one in which Harry, Ron and Hermione beat the troll in the girls’ bathroom and from that point on, the three of them are best friends. Anyone who’s read this series has fallen in love with the three of them and their true friendship, and to read where it all began … I love that scene.

I am privileged to live near Orlando, Florida and also to have season passes to the Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure theme parks where Harry Potter world is located. Upon finishing The Sorcerer’s Stone I happened to be at Universal with my husband, and for the first time since visiting the second half of Harry Potter world (the new half, Diagon Alley), I took the time to go into all the stores and allowed myself to imagine I was going to be a new student at Hogwarts. I went to the wand shop and looked through all the wands, the robe store, the owlery, everything. I’ve done all of this before, but never so quickly after reading one of the books, and it was just that much more fun. Also, if you ever have the opportunity to travel to Orlando, you MUST visit these amazing theme parks. The attention to detail is incredible – you truly feel like you are in Harry Potter’s world.

I’m having so much fun reading these books! Thanks again to Sheila of Book Journey for hosting the readalong. Next up – Chamber of Secrets!

11 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone re-read/Readalong

  1. I know I should do this because I read the first four and then stopped, and then forgot most of the first four, so then it seemed like I would have to reread the whole thing, which seemed too daunting…. On the other hand, it would enhance my experience if I managed to get back to Orlando…. :–)

  2. Heather, I don’t know where you and Sheila heard/read that J.K. didn’t know where she was headed with the series when she first wrote Sorcerer’s Stone because it’s the opposite of the truth. In fact, in her first draft she gave away so many things in the first chapter, she needed to completely rewrite it. She plotted out the entire series over the course of a few years, I believe.

    And lucky you living near Orlando with your season passes! 😀 😀 😀

  3. I like the troll scene, but my all time fave has to be the scene where they are sitting on the Devil’s Snare and Hermoine panics about not having wood for fire. With Ron shouting I thought that it was emblematic of their personalities. Hermoine brainy, but panicky, Ron, sensible and completely over the top and Harry, cool, calm and collected.

  4. I feel like I’ve got it memorized too – like you, I’ve reread it tons – but love it every time. I’ve noticed that I read through it a lot quicker now, seeing as I’ve read it so much, but I still always find great little details that I had forgotten or overlooked.

    I’m jealous you live near Orlando! I’ve never been to WWOHP, it wasn’t around last time I was in Florida years ago. We are going to Kissimmee for our honeymoon in June, so I will finally get my dream visit then!

  5. Ack! I’m going to be in Orlando in December, but it’s all Disney. I would so love to go the Harry Potter theme park now, but I didn’t know that when we made our plans. Is there a part you can go to for free (gift shop, etc?)

    I’m so glad to hear that you love reading these books over and over. I enjoyed The Sorcerer’s Stone, but not as much as I was expecting. Chamber of Secrets is what really sucked me in. Knowing that you see how the first book set up everything else excites me. I want to get to that place myself.

    1. Forget Nashville next year! We should plan a trip or at least a meet-up to Harry Potter World! Neither my husband or daughter are interested, so they could muggle about with your husband and kids, and we could go wand shopping! 🙂

  6. A couple of years ago I re-read them all in audiobook format, read by the incredible Stephen Fry. I hear the American version is also great, read by Jim Dale. I’m planning another re-read of the paper version next year.

Leave a Reply

