47289-sundaysalonGood afternoon friends and welcome to The Sunday Salon. It’s been a pretty uneventful week over here, which is mostly a good thing. I decided to use an extra vacation day I hadn’t planned for and treated myself to a five-day weekend/staycation this weekend. So I took Friday, Saturday, and Monday off. Tuesday we are closed for Veteran’s Day, giving me five whole days to myself. It’s been glorious. I’ve been able to organize drawers and closets I hadn’t gotten to in more months than I can admit, leisurely do household chores (instead of rushing to finish everything on Sunday like usual) and READ!

I finally finished The Valley of Amazement! Even though the book was mostly torturous for me, the ending was one that I kind of loved. And I did like the first 100 pages or so. So I ended up giving it three stars, even though it could have (and should have) been about 200 pages shorter than it was. After that, I started and finished Dept. of Speculation (which I liked but didn’t love) and my re-read of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. This morning, I started The Impossible Knife of Memory by the incredible Laurie Halse Anderson and Carole Radzwill’s memoir, What Remains, at the urging of a friend. So far, both books are fantastic.

I mentioned last week that I wanted to cook more, so today I decided to join Trish’s Cook It Up challenge this month. Basically, the idea is to use our cookbooks more and exactly how to accomplish that is up to the individual participant. For me, I’m going to try to focus on one cookbook per month (or use one for a couple of months if it’s going well or if I don’t have time to try lots of recipes) and then decide if it’s a cookbook I want to keep or toss. I have SO MANY cookbooks I never use that this is an easy and (hopefully) delicious way to weed out the bad ones from the good. So for now I’ll be focusing on Rachael Ray 30-Minute Get Real Meals, a cookbook I’ve had for YEARS but have never used. Tonight I’m making Indian Summer Turkey Chili – sounds super tasty and perfect for this cool, grey day.

Not much else to report here. I’m off to the grocery store to buy ingredients for my chili, and I plan to veg out with books or TV for the rest of the day. What are you up to today?