David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling GiantsDavid and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants by Malcolm Gladwell
Published by Little, Brown and Company

From the publisher:

In his #1 bestselling books THE TIPPING POINT, BLINK and OUTLIERS, Malcolm Gladwell has explored the ways in which we understand and change our world. Now he looks at the complex and surprising ways in which the weak can defeat the strong, how the small can match up against the giant, and how our goals (often cultural determined) can make a huge difference in our ultimate sense of success. Drawing upon examples from the world of business, sports, culture, cutting-edge psychology and an array of unforgettable characters around the world, DAVID AND GOLIATH is in many ways the most practical and provocative book Malcolm Gladwell has ever written.

I’m a huge fan of Malcolm Gladwell. I like his take on unusual topics and I love how he turns typical wisdom completely on its head. He always makes me think, and I love challenging my brain. David and Goliath was no different from his previous books in that way – it definitely helped me see things in a new and very different way.

The main thing I got out of this book is that the “Davids” of the world can’t beat the “giants” of the world using the same tactics as the “giants”. Does that make sense? New and innovative ways of thinking and doing things must be discovered in order for underdogs to win. Also, underdogs can win by finding the weakness of the powerful and using that to their advantage.

Gladwell uses several real-life examples to illustrate his point and I really liked the variety of examples used. None of them were an obvious comparison to the David and Goliath story, but each one worked in its own way. The different examples and how he showed how the underdog won against the powerful each time kept my brain buzzing – it was the perfect amount of thinking with entertainment, too.

I love Gladwell’s books on audio. He narrates them himself, and his speech has this strange, almost over-enunciating quality to it that for some reason I just love. I listened to this one, too, and it was just as great a listening experience as his previous books.

I’ve really enjoyed all of Gladwell’s books. If I had to rank them, however, this would probably be my least favorite of the four. That being said, I enjoyed it quite a bit! So definitely pick up one of his if you haven’t, and if you’re already a fan, David and Goliath is a must read.