You may be wondering where I’ve been for almost the entire month of April. Well, it’s been an extremely busy, extremely awesome, month for me. I spent a four-day weekend in Clearwater Beach with my best friends – these friendships go back to when I was in sixth grade – and it was absolutely amazing. We haven’t all been together in years – after high school we went to different colleges, and a few of us moved out of state – and although we’ve remained friends through many life changes, just being in the same room for four straight days was such a joy. We had so much fun reliving memories, catching up, and making new memories as we celebrated one friend’s upcoming nuptials with a full-on bachelorette weekend extravaganza. It was perfect and I’m so thankful I got to enjoy that time with some of the most fantastic women I’ve ever known.

Two weeks after that fun, my mom came down for almost a week’s visit. She and I had a great time. We went to Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure one day, spend another day at New Smyrna Beach, did a boat tour around a local chain of lakes, enjoyed several restaurants, and spent lots of time by the pool, relaxing. It was awesome spending uninterrupted time together, and after what she’s been through the past six months or so, she really needed the time off. Plus, Chicago has had the WORST winter ever so she was so, so happy to see so much sunshine. It was truly a perfect weekend.

In between all that fun, I attended both of my book club’s monthly meetings. One book club discussed This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper, a book I’d read years ago (but probably should have re-read, as I realized during book club when I couldn’t even remember any of the characters’ names, oops). And it turned out that the restaurant we were at was having a trivia night, so we participated, which was unexpectedly fun even though we lost rather pathetically. My other book club discussed House of Bathory by Linda Lafferty, a book I thought I would hate, but I ended up racing  through it, and although it’s not my normal fare at ALL, I actually enjoyed it. We had a pretty good discussion around it, too.

So it wouldn’t surprise you terribly to learn that I’ve barely been reading throughout the month of April, and I definitely haven’t been writing any reviews, right? I’m tempted to just throw in the towel with this blog altogether, but I just can’t bring myself to go there yet. I still love visiting all of your blogs, although I don’t comment as much as I should, and connecting with other readers through blogging. I might go on a mini-review catch-up thing, and then try to start getting back into it after … we’ll see.

Right now I’m reading Wally Lamb’s We Are Water (also for book club) and I am in love. Reading this book makes me want to go back and re-read all of his books. I forgot how much he can draw me into a story to the point that I have no interest in coming up for air. I’m also listening to Where’d You Go, Bernadette? on audio and although I’m enjoying it a lot, I’m finding that I have to force myself to listen to it instead of music. I’m not sure why that is, but eventually I’ll get through it.

Today has been a great day so far, the hubby and I had lunch at a favorite quick-service type restaurant and went to a movie (God’s Not Dead). I still have grocery store plans and maybe some laundry and reading in my future. And tomorrow, back to the grind.

What about you? How has your April been? Any exciting plans for May?