Good morning and welcome to the first Sunday Salon of the new year. I really love the feeling this time of year gives me – like I can start fresh. Even though it’s just a day, no different from any other day on the calendar, turning that page to January always feels like a new beginning and all things are possible.

This past week was a good one, but it felt strange as having New Years Day fall in the middle of the week gave me a broken-up work week. I went out with friends on Monday evening (40 cent wings if you must know), and then Tuesday evening was NYE! We celebrated with two other couples by having dinner at Ocean Prime, a place I’d never been to before but was every bit as amazing as my friend said it would be. We were home by 11:30, and I was able to get my champagne opened and ready for the ball drop. A perfect evening, to be honest – I wouldn’t have changed a thing.

We didn’t do a whole lot New Year’s Day, but it was nice to just get a few things done around the house and relax. Hubby and I briefly discussed any resolutions we might have for this year – neither one of us is big into real resolutions but there are a few things we are thinking about. We definitely want to spend less money – we don’t spend more than we have, we don’t get into credit card debt, but we’d like to spend a little less so we can save a little more. We both want to get healthier – he’s been faithfully going to the gym and using a personal trainer for months now, but I need to get back into the gym and we both need to eat better. I would like to cook more (goes hand in hand with eating more healthfully!) and actually utilize some of the many cookbooks I have lying around my house and the cooking blogs I follow. Like I said, nothing too concrete or setting ourselves up for failure, just a few little things that should make our lives better.

I finished my first book of the year on New Years Day – Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed – and I LOVED it. So much in this book resonated with me. It’s going to be hard to review because I just want to say “READ IT!” and leave it at that.

I’m excited to say that I have a full week of reviews scheduled next week! Three books that I finished in 2013 but all publish this year – and all three of them are ones that I really enjoyed. So keep an eye on the blog for some actual book reviews! Very exciting stuff indeed.

Not much is planned for today. Hubby just left to have lunch and see a movie with a friend, and I’m contentedly looking forward to a day of reading, blogging, laundry, possibly a little grocery shopping and cooking dinner.

What are you up to this Sunday? How was your New Years?