Good morning and welcome to The Sunday Salon.🙂 I am doing well this morning, as I’m recovering and winding down from a fantastic weekend. Hubby and I had a wonderful Thanksgiving meal with his mother and sister on Thursday (at a restaurant, a tradition we started last year), then spent the day at Universal/Islands of Adventure, and then Friday morning the two of us drove up to St. Augustine, Florida, to spend a weekend touring the oldest city in the US! There’s a ton of historical stuff to do in St. Augustine, and we had a great time exploring this old city with its rich and unique historical and cultural elements. We also ate dinner both nights at the amazing Blackfly Restaurant, a random find that turned out to be absolutely incredible. My husband actually declared it his favorite restaurant ever, and I agreed with him that the scallops were the best I’d ever had. One of the owners created the art that decorates the walls, he personally came over and chatted with us both evenings (and bought us dessert the second night!), and the staff is friendly and inviting. I’d highly recommend checking it out if you’re ever in the area.

Other than that much-needed weekend getaway, I haven’t been up to much. Work is going well and I’m gearing up for the holidays by participating in a Secret Santa at work and getting ready for FOUR work Christmas parties. Because my husband and I work for the same company, I will be attending my boss’s party, his boss’s party, my party with my employees, and his party with his employees. Guaranteed to be tons of fun and another way we get to realize and appreciate how lucky we are that we both work for people and with people who we truly enjoy spending time with.

In reading news, I’ve been reading a little bit. I finished Heartbeat by Elizabeth Scott this weekend, which is due to be released in January. I’ve just started The Descent by Alma Katsu, the final book in The Taker trilogy, one I’ve been super excited about, and I’m really looking forward to getting into it later this afternoon. In audio, nothing is really catching my attention, which is unfortunate. I started Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, but couldn’t get into it. I also started The Omnivore’s Dilemma, which was due back at the library yesterday … so if I can’t renew it I’ll be giving up on that one too. I’ve heard both books are great, so I’m not sure why I can’t quite get into either of them … obviously they problem is me but I just don’t know why I can’t get into audios lately. Oh well.

I’m looking forward to spending the rest of the day relaxing, doing laundry and other weekend chores, reading, possibly blogging, and grilling tonight. What about you?