Good morning and happy Sunday. It’s been quite some time since I’ve caught up with you via Sunday Salon and I’m wondering if I still know how to be chatty and do this thing. I’ve been going through a lot of stuff over the past month or so family-wise and it hasn’t been easy to just casually talk about how my weekends are going. Nothing awful has happened, so don’t worry about me, but I did have to take a last-minute trip to Chicago to spend some time with some family members in crisis of sorts. Unfortunately, things aren’t yet settled how we’d like them to be, but I’m hopeful and praying for a resolution soon. It’s been difficult for me to be so far away from everyone during this time – even though I was blessed to have the flexibility at work and in life and money necessary to fly to Chicago with about a week’s notice, I could only spend a week there and would have loved to be there much longer. It’s hard when people you love are going through such tough times and there’s literally nothing you can do to help.

On a happier note, you all know my husband and I are Disney freaks so that being said, when Epcot Food and Wine Festival was going on for the last six weeks or so, we spent many of our weekends there. It took us about five visits, but we managed to eat or drink something from every country represented! Now that we are season pass holders, we really try to take advantage of every possible opportunity to spend time at the Disney parks, and it’s extra special when there’s some kind of event going on. In fact, we are headed over to Hollywood Studios tonight to see the Christmas lights!

Right now I’m snacking on these delicious snapea crisps (seriously they are amazing), after having just finished throwing some turkey pumpkin chili in the crockpot for dinner tonight, and mulling over the state of my blog. I feel like this conversation is so played-out at this point because it seems like so many bloggers are either slowing down or quitting altogether these days, but each time it happens it’s so personal to the individual blogger and these decisions are not something that can be made lightly. I just don’t feel the passion and energy I once felt towards blogging and it’s been this way for probably a year now. I keep thinking that the spark will come back and it just hasn’t. However, I still love reading other people’s blogs so perhaps if I take away the pressure on myself to write good, consistent reviews I’ll be more inspired to comment on yours. I am thinking I may copy my good friend Sandy (of You’ve Gotta Read This fame) and just post brief thoughts of what I’m reading on Goodreads. I haven’t come to any decisions yet but I’ve certainly been thinking about this a lot.

As far as reading goes lately, I’m currently reading The Lowland, the latest by author goddess (in my opinion anyway) Jhumpa Lahiri, and it is fantastic so far. I’m also in the middle of Allegiant and enjoying it quite a bit so far. I understand the end is rather shocking and I’ve seen very mixed reviews so I’m looking forward to getting some more of that read today. I started listening to The Omnivore’s Dilemma in my car and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter on my ipod.

Anyway I hope you all have lovely Sundays. What are you up to? Cooking up any exciting fall dishes? Reading any excellent books I need to know about?