Good afternoon everyone! You all know that I have had a rough couple of weeks since my father-in-law’s passing, but things are looking up in our neck of the woods and I have a feeling good times will be on their way soon – for my husband’s entire family. His mother is doing MUCH better, she has had a ton of support and has been overwhelmed (in a good way) by all the phone calls, emails, and loving “whatever you need, I’ll be there” messages she has received. It has been great for her and although she is going to have some major adjusting to do in her new way of life, and still plenty of grieving, I think she is headed in the right direction. It’s looking good.

I have had a busy and fun weekend! Saturday evening hubby and I met up with another couple for dinner at Giordano’s, a restaurant that offers Chicago-style deep dish pizza (not my favorite deep dish restaurant, but unfortunately the BEST Chicago-style pizza places can only be found in Chicago, so I settle for what I can get). After dinner, we met up with another couple to see Weezer live at the Hard Rock. It was my second time seeing Weezer perform, and just as I expected, they put on a great show. My sweet hubby is SUCH a great guy because he didn’t know ANY of their songs, but went just because he knew I would have such a good time. I’m so lucky to have him!

Sunday morning we packed up and headed to Marco Island, Florida for a wedding. The wedding was absolutely beautiful, on the beach at sunset, and the reception was really nice as well. We had a great time celebrating two wonderful people joining in marriage. Then we drove back this morning, and here we are. Tonight I have dinner plans with a friend I haven’t seen in a while, and then it’s back to work tomorrow morning.

I do have to say a huge THANK YOU to all the veterans out there. My own youngest brother is completing his four years in the Marine Corps this month and will be joining the ranks of veterans everywhere. Thank you so much to my awesome brother Alex and to anyone out there who has served, is currently serving, or will serve in our Armed Forces. Your sacrifices are much appreciated.

As for reading not a whole lot of that has been happening. I did finish Man in the Blue Moon by Michael Morris on the car ride back today, and I enjoyed it. I have a few other books I’ve finished over the past couple of weeks on tap to get reviewed soon. Hopefully I’ll have a chance to sit down later this week and get my thoughts together so I’ll have some blog content soon!

What has your weekend been like? Got any plans for the rest of this week?