Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Published by Hyperion Books

From the publisher:

Oct. 11th, 1943—A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun.When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.

As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage and failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from the enemy?
There has been SO MUCH hype about this book. I was almost afraid to read it because what if I didn’t like it? I have to tell you, for the first 80% of the book I don’t know that I did like it. I kept wondering what was going to make me fall in love with this novel, what could possibly happen at the end of the book that would make me change my mind about the “meh” feeling I had for most of it?
Well IT happened. And I see why everyone loves Code Name Verity so much. For me, it won’t go down as an all-time favorite but I highly appreciate what the author did with this novel. And when I finished it, I had the immediate urge to start from the first page and read it all over again. That, to me, is the mark of a good book.
I loved how the book explored a friendship, a truly honest, souls-bared friendship between two women. I loved how much these girls loved each other, perhaps more than some spouses love one another. I loved how the novel showed women actually being involved in war, actively participating as soldiers, because most war novels don’t even broach the subject of women at war.
So, I get it. I didn’t exactly fall hopelessly in love with Code Name Verity like many others did, but there was a point at which my mind was blown. Patience is the key with this one, though. You have to wait a long time to get to that point and if you aren’t paying attention throughout the whole story you can miss things. Recommended.