Let's Pretend This Never HappenedLet’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson
Published by Amy Einhorn Books, an imprint of Penguin

From the publisher:

When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father and a morbidly eccentric childhood. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame-spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it.

In the irreverent Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson’s long-suffering husband and sweet daughter help her uncover the surprising discovery that the most terribly human moments—the ones we want to pretend never happened—are the very same moments that make us the people we are today. For every intellectual misfit who thought they were the only ones to think the things that Lawson dares to say out loud, this is a poignant and hysterical look at the dark, disturbing, yet wonderful moments of our lives.

Before listening to this memoir, I wasn’t familiar with Jenny Lawson aka The Bloggess. I had heard from some blogger friends that her blog is hilarious and that I should check out her memoir, so I did. Also I was told to listen to the audio because she narrates it herself, so I did that too.

And it was really funny! She is the perfect kind of off-the-wall bordering on crazy funny that is just hysterical. She doesn’t shy away from rehashing some insane details about her life growing up – and I do mean insane, her dad had a taxidermy business in their HOUSE for goodness sakes – but her lighthearted tone makes all these things just seem like, oh whatever, it happened. No biggie. Hilarious I tell you.

There are some serious parts to this book as well. Lawson details how she met her husband, Victor, and how she could hardly believe someone so put-together and “normal” would be interested in someone like her. I think we’ve all felt that way at one point in our lives, and I could really relate to those feelings. Also there is a chapter of the book devoted to her and Victor’s issues with infidelity, and it is heartbreaking at parts. No worries, they end up having a beautiful daughter, but the agony of the time it took to get them there will break your heart for a minute.

So I really liked this one! And my friends were right, audio is definitely the way to go here. Lawson’s voice is sort of high-pitched and I admit it did annoy me at first, but once I got used to it I was happy with her narration. There’s just something about an author narrating his/her own work – it gives the reader the exact experience that author was aiming for. If you want a laugh, or something to remind you that nobody is “normal”, go for Let’s Pretend This Never Happened!