Sunday was the last day of SIBA and it was a much more relaxed and shorter day than Friday and Saturday had been. Our breakfast that morning was hosted by University Press of Florida and featured all Florida authors and their books. Featured authors were Heather McPherson, Katie Farmand, Pam Brandon, Bob Kealing, Craig PittmanJoie Wilson and Penny Taylor. It was a lovely breakfast and we ended up sitting with one of the authors (Katie Farmand, who it turns out has a connection to Sandy, and who was so charming) which made it an even more enjoyable and interesting meal.

After breakfast, we wandered around the exhibit floor a little more. Since Sunday was the last day that the publishers were out, they were more relaxed and even more happy to give away books that they were really excited about. It was more of a casual morning on the tradeshow floor and I picked up a few books that I hadn’t been able to get to the day before, plus built some relationships with new-to-me publicists.

Our lunch on Sunday was probably my most anticipated event of the weekend, especially since it was so hyped up by other bloggers, and that was the Moveable Feast of Authors. Basically there were twenty or so authors (I’d list them all here but it would be way too much, and plus I can’t even imagine remembering them all) and we were each assigned a table – maybe 3-5 people per table. Each author had 7 minutes to spend per table, talking about their book or whatever else the conversation meandered its way towards. At the end of the 7 minutes, time was called and they had to move along to the next table. You guys, this was SO cool! I was exposed to more than one book I wouldn’t think myself interested in, simply because I enjoyed talking to the author so much and he/she totally sold their book to me. Also, all of the authors I met were so fun and gracious and just excited and happy to be around so many book lovers. It was truly a great experience.

After Moveable Feast there was another Signaround, where we were invited to receive signed copies of any or all of the books featured at the lunch.

At this point we were beyond beat. It had been an awesome weekend, but a truly exhausting one, and we were ready for some relaxation time. So Heather and her husband, Sandy, Jill and I headed to the pool to relax, do a little reading, and in mine and Sandy’s case a little poolside cocktail drinking.🙂 What can I say, we were on vacation and damn sure we would make the most of it!

A few hours later, happily sunned and properly rested, we headed out to downtown Naples to find some dinner. We ended up at Pincher’s Crab Shack and while none of us actually got crab, the food was good and the company even better. Although we did get in a bit of an altercation with the server over some suggestive selling (on his part) gone way wrong. BUT that aside, it was a perfect way to end our excellent weekend. Monday morning it was back to reality, after the four-hour drive home I was met with real life and especially going back to work on Tuesday was a major slap in the face. After spending so much time having fun I almost forgot that my real life is not at all bookish. But that’s ok.

Anyway, SIBA was truly awesome and I’m so, so glad I was able to experience it. I would love to go back next year, who knows what my schedule will be like but I can always hope, right?