BBAW – These books need your attention!

Every year, I invariably read a book or two that are seriously excellent but for some reason don’t seem to get the attention around the blogs that I feel they deserve. So for today’s Book Blogger Appreciation Week post, I’m going to highlight one such book for each of the five years I’ve been blogging.

2012 – The Slap by Chris Tsiolkas [my review]

2011 – City of Tranquil Light by Bo Caldwell [my review]

2010 – Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan [my review]

2009 – North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley [my review]

2008 – The God of Animals by Aryn Kyle [my review]

What are some of your favorite under-appreciated books?

19 thoughts on “BBAW – These books need your attention!

  1. I read Love is the Higher Law this year, and I agree – it’s excellent. Now I’m curious about the other books you’ve listed, and will be looking into them.

  2. I just read your review of North of Beautiful and am on my way to check out your reviews of the other ones you mention. Some of the titles I know, but others I don’t. I think today is going to be my favorite day–and the worst for my TBR collection. As if I need more books added to it. LOL I wouldn’t be a reader otherwise though, would I?

  3. I have read NONE of them! But I have The Slap, and has been on my “need to read sooner than later” list. Girl you are rocking this BBAW. Here I sit like a schlub.

    1. Aww you are sweet! I typed up all these posts on Monday afternoon while I was doing laundry, LOL! And you are the farthest thing from a schlub ever! my goodness, miss wake up at 5 am to run 8 miles! whatever! 😉 But yes, do read The Slap. It was awesome.

  4. I haven’t read any of these either, but I really want to read The Slap after reading Steph’s review a long while ago. It might take some time, but I will get to it!

  5. North Of Beautiful is such a fantastic story — I read it years ago and still think about it from time to time! Fabulous characters, moving plot. Great list!

Leave a Reply

