Good morning and happy Sunday! I’m coming to you incredibly happy today because I have tomorrow off for Labor Day! Yay for long weekends. I don’t have a ton of stuff planned for my extra time off, but today we are heading to a water park for a few hours and then plan to buy some steaks to grill out tonight. Tomorrow will consist of some shopping, review writing, reading, and probably some pool time.

I had a good week personally, my work book club met on Monday evening and I had a great time at my small group meeting Thursday night (small group = Bible study). We have an awesome small group, we’ve been meeting with the same six couples for almost two years now and we’ve really formed great relationships with everyone. We found out this week that another couple in the group is expecting a baby! It’s incredibly exciting, although they are the last couple in the group besides my husband and I to have children … so we will be the only childless couple there! Which is great, because we get to play with all the kiddos when we all get together, and then go home to our quiet house. Perfection! And no, we do not plan to have children anytime in the near future.

Last weekend was rough. I traveled to Stuart, Florida to visit my elderly grandparents because my two aunts (dad’s sisters) were in town visiting them as well. It’s a bad situation over there – grandma has dementia, grandpa is not physically well and can’t take care of her really, but refuses to admit that he needs help – and it was difficult for me to see how bad things really are. My grandpa is just a stubborn, angry person and refuses to see reality, so it’s disappointing to know that there’s absolutely nothing we can do to help the situation. It’s just hard. And my aunts are at a total loss on what to do. It was nice to see family, but overall was not one of the best weekends I’ve had.

Work has been good this week, I am losing a couple of employees due to good circumstances for both of them, which is definitely sad. But it gives me the opportunity to hire some new folks, and new faces are always good to shake things up a bit. Plus it caused me to remember and appreciate what I do love about each one of my employees – they are all fabulous people and I have a great time working with them all. I am truly blessed in that department.

Reading hasn’t been too great as of late. I finished Age of Miracles last Sunday night for my work book club, and I actually liked it overall (but hated the ending). I started Drift by Rachel Maddow in audio on my drive last weekend and have almost finished it up over the course of this week. Works in progress include In the Shadow of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner, Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness, and Β Saving Ruth by Zoe Fishman. I’m enjoying all of them and hope to finish at least one this weekend.

I’m SUPER excited to be heading to Naples on Thursday for SIBA. I’ve never been to anything like this before, but I’ve been told I will just love everything about it. I truly cannot wait.

What is going on in your world this Sunday?