Sea ChangeSea Change by Karen White
Published by NAL Trade, an imprint of Penguin
Review copy provided by the publicist

Thirty-five year old Ava Whalen has always felt a sense of distance from her own family, a feeling of not quite belonging. So when she meets and quickly marries Matthew Frazier, she’s hopeful that her days of loneliness are in the past. What Ava fails to understand is that since she became involved with Matthew so fast, there’s a lot she doesn’t know about him – including specifics surrounding his first wife’s death. Feeling lost and just as alone as always, Ava sets out to investigate Matthew’s past and what she finds is that she, too, has a connection to this island she now lives on with him. The things she learns about Matthew’s history and her own will shock her and change her life.

I have nothing but love for Karen White’s novels. They never fail to interest me and leave me wanting more, and Sea Change was a welcome addition to that pattern.  As I expected, I loved her heroine in this novel, Ava, and felt deeply that I wanted her to get the answers she needed. I wanted her to find peace in her life and true happiness with her new husband, and as I read the book I was anxiously awaiting these things for her.

There was a secondary storyline weaved into the plot, that of Pamela, a woman who lived on St. Simons island over a hundred years ago, and while I was interested to find out how Pamela and Ava were connected, I have to admit that I was less invested in Pamela’s story than Ava’s. I still cared about Pamela, don’t get me wrong, but Ava was just more interesting to me as a character for whatever reason. I was happy to find how these two women’s lives were linked, though, when that finally came together towards the end.

I honestly don’t have a ton to say about Sea Change just because I liked it so much. If you are new to Karen White, I can’t understand what you’re waiting for. I have truly enjoyed each one of her novels that I’ve read, and this is just another to add to that list. Her novels are atmospheric, beautifully written, there’s usually a touch of a mystery, and they always feature a heroine that the reader can’t help but love. Recommended.