TSS: Back to reality

The Sunday Salon.comGood morning everyone and welcome to The Sunday Salon! My vacation was really, really fantastic. It was everything I could have hoped for. Great times with my family, tons of time spent luxuriating poolside and beachside, and I even saw a dolphin while kayaking! Couldn’t have been any better, truly.

And now it’s back to reality … I’m happy to be going back to work, which sounds strange but I do enjoy my job quite a bit. Yes it’s stressful and eats up most of my life but I enjoy being there and I work with wonderful people. Not going to lie though, I’m grateful for this last day of relaxation and errand-running and getting stuff done around the house before the week begins.

Yesterday after getting back from the beach, hubby and I headed over to Universal Studios as Josh Turner was the performer for this week’s summer concert series. I don’t even like country music but hubby loves it, and so I knew a few of Josh Turner’s songs because of him. He was excellent in concert! That man has an incredibly deep, sexy voice and I really enjoyed listening to him. It was a fun night.

So this week is Audiobook Week, hosted by Jen at Devourer of Books and I plan to participate! I am hoping to get three audiobook reviews up this week, plus respond to a few of the daily topics she has planned. Should be a fun time!

What did I read on vacation, you ask? Well, almost nothing. I’m embarrassed to admit that the one book I finished was Fifty Shades of Grey. I’ve been criticizing the darned thing for months now so I figured it was time to actually read it for myself. And let me tell you, the writing is as bad as I was expecting (maybe worse). I will have a full review in about two weeks but for now I can safely say that I would NOT recommend the thing.

Well, that’s about all I’ve got for today. I’m off to get some posts written for this week. What do you have going on today?

10 thoughts on “TSS: Back to reality

  1. Welcome back! It is so hard coming back from a vacation. You might have crossed paths with my kids last night…they were there with my husband’s nephew and girlfriend for about 12 hours. None of them were interested in this singer though, so they blew off the concert and rode more rides. Well, at least now you can back up general criticisms of Fifty Shades with specifics. It is the worst thing I’ve read in decades.

  2. aw you read 50 Shades. 🙂 Can’t wait to read your review.
    I’m so glad you had a nice vacation!

  3. I don’t listen to country music at all, but I had a foster parent ages ago who always had CMT on when I was over, and I really liked Josh Turner when he was on, lol.

  4. I’m glad your vacation was good!! I need to complete some audio reviews myself…looking forward to this week.

  5. Your trip sounds wonderful!!

    I’ll be really curious on your thoughts of 50 Shades. It’s one of those that I fear I’ll eventually have to read just to know what the hype is about. Even my husband keeps asking me and he knows NOTHING about books. LOL!

  6. Where did you guys go kayaking at? Di and I love yaking around. *grin* Haulover Canal by Titusville/Cocoa area is great for some dolphin and manatee spotting.

Leave a Reply

