Weekend Cooking: Just a Question

Today’s Weekend Cooking post is a simple question. I always have random ingredients on hand at home and am not enough of an accomplished cook to figure out how to make meals out of them. I hear there are websites out there where you can type in a few ingredients and it will search for recipes that incorporate them. Do any of you use such a site? If so, which one? And if not, what website is your favorite to find new recipes?

And what do you do with all those random ingredients, anyway? HELP!

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is held every Saturday. Stop by her blog and check out all the fun!

17 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Just a Question

  1. I have been know to use either the Big Oven phone app, or foodgawker.com. Both have been helpful for this, although I knew I was in trouble when I entered my ingredients and it said ‘you can’t eat that!!!’ πŸ˜‰

    1. LOL! I hadn’t heard of foodgawker.com so I just checked it out… like Pinterest but only for food! It is awesome. Thanks for pointing me in that direction!

    1. Yes, omelet I sometimes do with an extra tomato or a little bit of broccoli that I have left. But I am never creative enough to whip up a soup or stir-fry. Will have to try that!

  2. Just experiment. I use Stephanie Alexander’s lists of what goes with what. I have collected recipes in Food on Friday for quite a few ingredients – and another one adds each week. I hope you will find it helpful. Carole’s Chatter

  3. I do that on my go to food website which is taste.com.au but given that it is an Aussie website I am not sure how useful that is for you!

  4. I would love a website that allowed me to plug in what I had in my pantry and whip it into something fanastic!

  5. I always make Whatchagot Stew when I need to use up ingredients. That’s what my dad calls a stew/soup made up of whatever is in your fridge. The key to making it edible is spices!

Leave a Reply

