From the Trade Paperback editionTime of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch
Published by Three Rivers Press, an imprint of Random House

Jillian has the perfect life, the life every woman dreams of – gorgeous investment banker husband, beautiful home in the suburbs, and the perfect child in her one-year-old daughter, Katie. But for some reason, Jillian can’t stop thinking about the life she could have had, would have had, if she had stayed with her ex, Jackson, instead of marrying Henry. One morning she wakes up in her old Manhattan apartment instead of her huge bedroom in her house in suburbia, no baby in sight, and instead of Henry she’s living with, it’s Jackson who shares her bed. Her fantasies about what her life could have been are coming true before her eyes – but now Jillian is faced with the unique opportunity to ask herself what will truly make her happy, which life is the one she would choose if she could do it all over again.

From the moment I picked up Time of My Life, I sympathized with Jillian. It’s almost impossible not to – who of us has not wondered what life could have been had different choices been made? I know I have certainly had moments in my life when I thought that a different choice at a critical moment would have created a completely different result from what I have today – not necessarily for better or worse, just different. So I definitely understood where Jillian was coming from. In her case, it’s clear that she made lots of choices based on what other people wanted, not what she wanted, but that’s besides the point. I got her, and I truly hoped for some character growth throughout the novel as she worked through her past to understand her present and future.

It’s important when reading Time of My Life not to question the fact that she goes back in time – it’s a must, in fact, to just accept this and move on. Because there is no explanation for why this happens to Jillian, and if you spend too much time dwelling on this little bit of magic, the book will be ruined for you. Instead the reader must relax and enjoy the journey that Winn Scotch takes us on, as it’s a fun, sometimes hilarious, but definitely heartfelt journey through Jillian’s past, and what could be her future. I loved the experience of reading this book – throughout the entire thing, I was cheering Jillian on and rooting for her to do what was right for her, to make the choices that would bring her true happiness instead of the choices that other people pushed on her.

If I have a complaint about Time of My Life, it would have to be its predictability. The novel ended exactly as I expected it to, but to be honest it ended exactly how I hoped it would as well. So that’s a good thing, actually, but yes, very predictable. I’m totally OK with that personally but I can see how others might find that to be a weakness of the novel. But guys, this is my second Allison Winn Scotch and I think she’s just great. Her books make me smile, simple as that.

I definitely recommend Time of My Life. I was in a little bit of a reading funk when I picked it up, and it was the perfect novel to shake me out of the slump. It’s lighthearted and fun, funny at times, but ultimately it’s the story of one woman’s heartfelt journey into what she truly wants out of life. I loved it!