In anticipation of Pandemonium being released, I decided to reread Delirium – the first in this series – right before reading Pandemonium for the first time. I’m glad I read the book one more time because turns out I forgot a LOT of what happened. The general plot I still had outlined in my mind, but rereading the book made me realize just how many important details had escaped from my brain since I read the novel the first time.

If you recall, I LOVED Delirium when I first read it. I’m happy to report that it definitely stood up to my reread – that is to say, I loved it just as much the second time around. I can definitely tell how much I raced through the book when I originally read it, because so many of the details felt completely new to me. Obviously I read them the first time, but I was reading so fast to keep up with the plot that I didn’t recall a LOT of little things. However, the big stuff stuck with me from the first time and it was a much different experience reading the novel with the general knowledge of what was going to happen. I was able to relax, enjoy the characters more, and savor Oliver’s writing, as opposed to racing through the book to find out what happens next.

I have to be honest and say that I don’t love the new cover… I much prefer the original one, but I suppose you can’t have everything.

If you are a fan of this book and plan to read Pandemonium, I would highly recommend a reread of Delirium. Pandemonium starts off with a huge bang and if you are fuzzy on the details of the first book, you might find yourself lost in Lena’s new life. Just a suggestion – it definitely was the right choice for me.

Check back tomorrow because I’ll be reviewing Pandemonium, the second book in this exciting trilogy by the fabulously talented Lauren Oliver.