Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

Steve JobsSteve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Published by Simon & Schuster Audio
Review copy provided by the publisher

I am not an Apple person. I have an iPod Nano and that’s it. I think their products are great, but I’ve just never been super into them for whatever reason. However, I knew that Steve Jobs had a fascinating life and his ideas and creations have been hugely impactful in the technology industry. So when I was offered this book for review, on audio no less, I happily accepted.

I knew Jobs had a fascinating life, but I honestly knew next to nothing about him before listening to this book. I’m glad I did read it, because I learned a ton about this man, a genius of our time. After reading about how major of a force he has been in the technology industry over the years, I truly believe he will be remembered forever, an Einstein of our time. This entire book was incredibly interesting to me and I cherished the time I spent with it.

Now admittedly, I’m not a tech person so there were a few parts of the book that dragged a bit for me. Learning about how all of Jobs’ products were created and developed was quite interesting, but I could only take so much of tech-speak before I would get a little bit bored. However, the book was written in such a way that just when I felt like I couldn’t handle any more of this, Isaacson would switch to more of Jobs’ personal life and relationship-type stuff, which held my interest better. For this reason, Steve Jobs has something for everyone. Those who are most interested in the Apple/technology part of Jobs’ legacy will be fascinated and interested, as will those who are more concerned with his personal life and family history. Isaacson does a great job balancing both aspects of Jobs’ life.

The audio version of Steve Jobs was great and I would definitely recommend it. Dylan Baker does an excellent job with the narration – he is never dry and he keeps the right inflections in his voice throughout. I tend to enjoy nonfiction in audio better than in print – I guess it’s because I am forced to listen while driving or whatever – and I don’t know that I would have made it all the way through Steve Jobs if I had attempted the print version. So I definitely recommend this fascinating biography, and my advice would be to pick up the audio version.

13 thoughts on “Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

  1. As an Apple addict, I’ve been wanting to read this one for ages. Jobs was such a private person but from the tidbits I’ve heard he led a very fascinating life. Nice to know that the tech portions of the bio are balanced nicely with the personal info. The audiobook would be my preferred format too – just waiting for library availability.
    Great review!

  2. We’re definitely book review twins! I was much more interested in Jobs’ personal life, too, and enjoyed hearing about the creation of Apple and the many products it launched, though the specific tech speak did get to be too much. I skipped through some of that and focused more on Jobs’ relationships and family life.

  3. I would love to hear the audio version of this one. I have it in print, but have been having more success with listening than sitting down and reading lately, so it would probably be a better fit for me. It does sound like a tremendously interesting book, and my husband is about half finished with it and is loving it. I am glad you loved it too, now I can tell him so! Great review today!

  4. I read the print version and was bored by some of the techie stuff, too. But I was fascinated by his personality and all of his quirks. I thought it was a quick read for such a chunkster.

    • Yep I totally agree. Huge book but went pretty quickly. He was definitely quirky but I totally see why so many people forgave all his not-so-nice behavior because of his genius.

  5. Pingback: Faves from 2012: Audios | Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

