From the Trade Paperback editionNaomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Published by Ember, an imprint of Random House

Naomi and Ely have been best friends almost their whole lives. They have been through a lot together, and although Naomi is in love with Ely, Ely loves Naomi in a platonic way, since he prefers to fall in love with boys. So they create a “No Kiss List” of people neither of them are allowed to kiss, which is working just fine until Ely kisses Naomi’s boyfriend Bruce. Bruce, who they neglected to put on the list. And this one kiss has serious consequences for their friendship.

The best way that I can think of to describe this book is cute. It is a fun concept, cute characters, and the resolution is satisfying if a bit predictable. I liked the characters, although I have to admit they frustrated me to some extent. The whole in-love-with-my-gay-best-friend thing got annoying after a while, especially since Naomi has always known he was gay, it’s not that he suddenly told her after she’d already fallen for him. And Ely kissing her boyfriend – that was obnoxious. I guess it was the whole point of the story, but still… he wasn’t even sorry he did it! That bothered me a bit.

But you know what, I enjoyed this book while I was reading it. And one thing I especially liked was that it was much more a book about friendship than about teen romance, which is refreshing to see. While this book isn’t one of my favorite YA novels, I have high hopes for the Rachel Cohn/David Levithan combination and will probably eventually read the rest of their books. I liked the concept of this book, and the characters are cute but annoying… so overall, I’d say Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List was just okay for me.