Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral

ChopsticksChopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral
Published by Razorbill, an imprint of Penguin

Glory, a young piano prodigy, quickly falls in love with Frank when he moves in next door to the home she shares with her father. But their love develops into something more serious, even desperate, as Glory’s eccentricities and quirks slowly turn into madness. She becomes obsessed with the song “Chopsticks.” Will their love survive Glory’s ever-worsening instability?

Chopsticks is told in a very interesting and unique way. It is a story told mostly in pictures, drawings, text messages, and even YouTube videos. Even with this nontraditional format, it’s very clear how quickly and deeply Glory and Frank fall in love, and their feelings for one another come across just as loudly as if the words were explicitly written.

I enjoyed experiencing Chopsticks - the unique format captivated me and I couldn’t put it down. Since there’s not a lot here to actually read, the book is a quick read and I easily got lost in the story and finished it in one sitting.

The thing is, though, that there’s a pretty big twist in the story. I tell you that because, even though I knew to expect it, I still missed it. Pay attention – things are not exactly what they seem here and if you figure it out, you will be blown away by the end. But seriously – pay attention or you won’t get it!

Chopsticks┬áis a highly enjoyable “reading” experience that is truly more than meets the eye. I would definitely recommend this one.

5 thoughts on “Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral

  1. Glad you enjoyed it! Yeah, if the rep at Penguin Teen hadn’t given me a head’s up, I would have been confused. Which is really the only downside of the book. Certainly my daughter had no idea what was going on. But a very clever format. I like!

  2. I haven’t read it yet, but I know the twist, and it doesn’t deter me the slightest from reading the book. I think that the format of this one is so amazing, and I got a chance to look at it a little bit when we were at SIBA. I need to go ahead and read this one soon, as it seems like it would be easy to blow through in an afternoon! Great review, Heather!

  3. Pingback: “Book”-ket List for February! « inside a toggle's mind

Leave a Reply

