The Unwritten RuleThe Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott
Published by Simon Pulse, an imprint of Simon & Schuster

Sarah and Brianna have been best friends since kindergarten, and although Sarah’s always been in gorgeous Brianna’s shadow, Brianna has been a faithful friend all those years and has never let Sarah down. But now, Sarah has a crush on Brianna’s boyfriend, Ryan, and even though Sarah liked him first, and she knows Ryan feels the same, she knows she is the worst friend in the entire world. How can she even think of betraying her best friend like this? But feelings are feelings, and when Sarah’s crush turns into something more, her friendship with Brianna might never recover.

I’ve long been a fan of Elizabeth Scott, and this was one of her backlist titles I randomly spotted at the library that I finally got to. I don’t have a ton to say about The Unwritten Rule, but I did enjoy it, and it lived up to the standards I’ve sort of held Elizabeth Scott to over the years (because she is awesome).

While the story of one girl falling for a friend’s boyfriend has been done before in YA, Scott’s take on it is fresh and definitely held my interest. The thing is, as a reader, you end up rooting for Sarah. Although Sarah doesn’t realize it, Brianna is not a good friend to her and basically stole Ryan right out from under Sarah when she was just developing feelings for him. But at the same time, you end up rooting for Brianna because as it turns out, her home life sucks and it’s very clear why she is such a bad friend – she never learned how to be a compassionate, decent person. And although you don’t think it possible, you feel for Ryan too, because he genuinely likes Sarah and wants to be with her, but he is a good guy and doesn’t want to hurt Brianna in the process. It’s quite a love triangle.

What surprised me is that Scott didn’t choose to end the book how I expected she would, which I like. Unexpected endings work well for me, as long as they make sense in the context of the story, which this one did. I continue to recommend Elizabeth Scott as an excellent YA author, and The Unwritten Rule is just one more example of how talented she is!