From the Hardcover editionPlease Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
Published by Knopf, an imprint of Random House

Vera Dietz’s best friend and secret love interest, Charlie Kahn, has just died unexpectedly, leaving Vera shaken, grieving, but most of all, tormented by all the secrets she has kept for him over the years. Even though he betrayed her in the absolute worst way and completely ruined their friendship, Vera still feels that she must do something, say something, to clear his tarnished reputation now that he’s gone. But will she be brave enough to step up?

I don’t even know what to say about this book, I loved it so much. In my opinion, there are several different kinds of YA books – you have the supernatural/vampire stuff, the dystopian stuff, the romance/for fun/brain candy stuff, and then the last category is YA that says something. YA that I wish was around when I was a teenager. John Green, Maureen Johnson, Ellen Hopkins, David Levithan, these are examples of authors that fit into this category, and now I will happily add A.S. King there as well. Because this is not just a young adult book – it is a freaking awesome book that will impact you emotionally, I don’t care who you are. In my opinion (and keep in mind I love YA), all YA books have their merits and I enjoy many of them for different reasons, but it’s books like these that are the cream of the crop. Books like these that need to be shoved into teenagers’ hands.

Anyway, what can I say? Vera is the most adorable, smart, kick-butt, emotionally damaged character I’ve seen in teen fiction in a while. I absolutely loved her and felt her pain so deeply. So much of this story was hilariously funny but there were other moments that were just sobering, how sad they were. The book broke my heart and put it back together again.

I just want to say – if you are in any way interested in YA, read Please Ignore Vera Dietz. I loved Vera, I loved the book, and I hope you will too.