Then Came YouThen Came You by Jennifer Weiner
Published by Atria, an imprint of Simon & Schuster

Jules Strauss, a senior at Princeton thanks to a full scholarship, has decided to earn a large chunk of money by donating her eggs, which she plans to use to get her father into rehab for what she hopes will be the last time. Annie Barrow, married to her high school sweetheart and a young stay at home mom to two boys, understands that the money she will make from being a surrogate will put her family in a much better financial situation. India Bishop is thirty-eight and desperate to have a child with her older husband, Marcus Croft, and turns to Jules and Annie for help. But when Marcus’ daughter Bettina decides to investigate India, all of their lives will be turned completely upside down.

I’ve long been a fan of Jennifer Weiner, and I typically make it a point to read anything she publishes, as soon as I can. While I have to admit that I didn’t love Then Came You as much as I have some of her other novels, this book was definitely compelling and the characters really made their way into my heart.

The plot of Then Came You is somewhat far-fetched, especially toward the end, but I have to say that I was willing to overlook that since I became so invested in these characters. Each of the women in this story had their own struggles to overcome and imperfections that made them seem incredibly human to me – I really believed each of their characters. Jennifer Weiner has always had a talent for writing women that could be people I know in real life, and this novel was no different. Even though I didn’t particularly like Bettina, toward the end of the novel she really grew on me and I began to understand the reasons behind why she made some of the choices she did.

As I said already, the plot of the novel is a bit more far-fetched than I’d like, with one too many coincidences, but honestly I was happy to overlook that based on the fact that I was enjoying it so darn much. The ending was incredibly saccharine sweet and not at all likely to happen in real life, but I can’t lie – I loved it! I wanted to be annoyed at how predictable it was, but really, by that time I was so invested in these characters and I wanted things to work out perfectly for them.

Then Came You might not be the best choice for a first time reader of Jennifer Weiner’s work, as I don’t think it is representative of her best novels, but for long-time fans I would definitely recommend the book. While I didn’t love everything about the book, and I know it’s definitely not her best, I still quite enjoyed it!