Gunn's Golden RulesGunn’s Golden Rules: Life’s Little Lessons for Making It Work by Tim Gunn
Published by Gallery Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster

As the mentor on the TV show Project Runway, Tim Gunn has won over the show’s contestants as well as millions of fans with his charming personality and favorite advice, “make it work!” In this memoir, Gunn gives his advice on making it work, not just in fashion, but in work, love, and other aspects of life. He also goes behind the scenes of some of fashion’s biggest icons and dishes about celebrities, as well as his own personal life – details he’s never before been so public about. All the while, he keeps his hysterical voice intact, while the advice he gives is actually quite wise and incredibly useful.

I’ve been a fan of Project Runway since its second season (when my friend who was in fashion design school at the time turned me on to it – now she is an actual fashion designer in New York City – okay, sidenote over). While I’ve always loved Tim Gunn and thought him absolutely adorable and incredibly wise, I had no idea that he had published a few books. When I saw this at the library, it was totally an impulse grab, but it actually turned out to be quite enjoyable. It turns out that Gunn is just as fantastic in print as he is on television!

What I liked best about Gunn’s Golden Rules is the nice balance between funny and serious. Gunn does quite a bit of gossiping about his fellow celebrities, giving the reader insights on Project Runway secrets, and making fun of fashion faux pas, but he also gets honest about his personal life and offers some real tokens of advice that the reader can actually use. I laughed at the funny parts, and paid attention at the serious ones, and I have to say that rarely do I find a celebrity memoir as balanced as this one. I know Gunn intended to have a lighter tone with this book than many other celebrity memoirs have, and it definitely worked. The lighter tone just served to make the important parts stand out even more clearly.

I honestly can’t find anything negative about Gunn’s Golden Rules. It may not be the book for everyone, and you certainly would have to be a fan of Tim Gunn to genuinely “get” everything here, but I personally enjoyed it immensely.