CrossedCrossed by Ally Condie
Published by Dutton Juvenile, an imprint of Penguin

*This review may contain spoilers for the first book in the series, Matched. You have been warned.

In search of Ky, Cassia travels to the Outer Provinces in the hopes that he hasn’t already been killed and that Ky can be a part of her future – a future that is incredibly uncertain as it is. Her travels cause her to question everything she thought she knew about her life, including the one person who has always been steadily there for her, Xander. Outside the Society, nothing is as it seems, and Cassia is forced to make major decisions while huge unknowns exist all around her.

I read Matched over a year ago, and while I obviously enjoyed it [my review], when I sat down to begin reading Crossed I realized that I remembered almost nothing about the first book. That was kind of an issue, because Condie throws the reader right into the story here, and I found myself trying desperately to remember how the first book ended (unsuccessfully). I do wish I had read the two books closer together, to be honest.

That being said, Crossed was an enjoyable read. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t dislike it either. I was definitely intrigued by all the things that Cassia didn’t understand about the world around her, and like her I was anxious for some answers. I enjoyed the fact that Ky told parts of this story as well, as his character really grew on me as the book went on. If I remember correctly, this book was more action-packed than the first, and the plot definitely kept me turning pages.

I found the secrets revealed toward the end of the book incredibly interesting, and the ending did leave me wanting more. I think I just haven’t gotten as invested with these characters as I have with other books of similar type (Divergent and The Hunger Games would be two examples) which might be why I’m not over the moon about this series. I remember feeling a little more enthusiastic about the first book than about this one, although like I said, it wasn’t very memorable so I’m not sure how that plays into things.

Either way, I did enjoy Crossed, I did think it was a nicely done, solid sequel, and I will probably read the third book when it comes out.